Control Box near Antenna

Hello, I’m new to this and very excited to be transmitting. My current setup involves close to 40 feet of LMR 400 connecting my roof antenna to my raspberry pi in the basement. Curious to know if there would be any advantage in converting my setup to instead wire into a weatherproof box that has inside all the hardware/software included and resting on the roof just a few feet from the antenna. I would have to run power and ethernet to the roof but hopping this would boost my reception and transmission. I’m not seeing anyone with a similar setup so I’m thinking perhaps I’m out to lunch. Thoughts on pros and cons from the veterans out there?

Hi, just out of curiosity, how high up is your antenna? I’ve noticed in my stats you are in my local area and i can’t see, to get quite close to your numbers and have wondered about you setup.

In theory yes, but the online calc.says 40 ft of LMR400 will cost you 2dB of attenuation.
Given the connectors account for a part of that (and you have them regardless of length), there isn’t much to be saved there.
With a roof mounted antenna and quality coax, you are off to a good start.
What type of dongle do you use? Maybe there is an improvement to be had there.

Personally, I don’t think you’ll gain much. Any db loss from the LMR cable will be minimal. The possible issues with rain and heat on the electronics would be enough to make me keep them indoors. Not to mention access to the pi if something were to go wrong. I don’t want to keep climbing on my roof! HA!

Anyway, I did see a youtube video of someone who did something similar. If you haven’t seen it I can try to find the link.

i also use LMR400. i have a filtered LNA in a small weather proof box right at the roof mounted antenna but keep the PI and power supply for the bias tee indoors. i have done this for about 3 to 4 years now with no LNA issues. (RTL-SDR.com filtered LNA)