Anyone know how to stop FA's Dump1090 from starting

so I can run OBJ’s version. Ive written one of the staff here, but have not heard back. Im a Linux Newb so my feeble searches for
the file to edit is coming up Not so good.

Hi

I’ve had problems with this starting myself.

I tried deleting the rogue version and it comes back, so what I did was change the version that the fadump1090.sh service tries to start to the one I wanted.

In my case on Raspbian, I edited the /etc/init.d/fadump1090.sh file and changed the location of the dump1090 application. I commented the original line and added the second. In my case I feed FR24, so I use the Malcolm Robb version. See below:

#DAEMON=/usr/bin/dump1090
DAEMON=/usr/lib/fr24/mr-dump1090

I think another option is simply to disable that service. I installed ‘chkconfig’ (sudo apt-get install chkconfig *) and use that to stop the service running by typing ‘sudo chkconfig fadump1090.sh off’

I should say though I haven’t tried that one.

Hope that helps*

Got 1090 stopped. That worked, just cant find the path to Mutability yet.

Think I got it. PIAWARE-STATUS gives me

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo piaware-status
dump1090 is not running.
faup1090 is not running.
piaware is running.
dump1090-mutab is listening for connections on port 30005.
dump1090-mutab is listening for connections on port 10001.
piaware is connected to port 10001.
piaware is connected to FlightAware.
dump1090-mutab is producing data on port 30005.
dump1090-mutab is producing data on port 10001.

Looks good!

Think Ill let it run for now to see what happens after a day or two before I try any changes :slight_smile:

I also feed FR24, but I use FA’s version of dump1090. Why do you use the MR version?

You can make fadump1090.sh non-executable with the following command:

sudo chmod -x /etc/init.d/fadump1090.sh