Altitude Reported in dump1090

Quick question, is the altitude displayed by dump1090 pressure altitude or something else?

It is going to be whatever the Mode C altitude squawk is, which is pressure altitude (29.92), or so I would think. ADSB could be reporting GPS altitude though, not sure. Interesting question though, as I do see a lot of tracks reporting exactly 34000 feet (or whatever), which is no surprise given most airliners are going to be on autopilot with altitude hold during the encounter phase of flight.

All the references I’ve seen say pressure altitude. I am very new to this, though, so it’s possible I’m not looking at the right references. As to the exactly 34000, it’s likely there’s some rounding going on. I haven’t seen anything more precise than 25 feet. And I think the format allows for less precision.

I would think it would be pressure altitude as well; however, altitudes do change for me when the planes are closer to the ground. I also took a plane on approach into KORD who was told to maintain 7000 for the approach. He indicated 7275. I took the KMDW altimeter setting (the closest to the A/C) and did the math: 29.92-29.64=.28. That means the A/C’s altimeter should be indicating 280’ above what it is actually at. So in other words, it measures the aircraft at 29.92. So to figure out what the A/C is actually at in MSL (ASL), you need to do the math every time. I think my math checks out, but if anyone else knows better, let me know! Thanks!

Are you missing something? Where did the 29.64 come from?

The local altimeter setting. Transponders squawk pressure altitude though, uncorrected for local baro, and ATC computers apply the appropriate offset to the track to display “MSL” on their scopes.

It would be cool if we had the same technology.