Air traffic controllers, working without pay, ramp up shutdown pressure

Air traffic controllers, working without pay, ramp up shutdown pressure

With the extreme deficits now being racked up it would seem to me that Air Traffic control and other valuable public services should move from the appropriations process to user fees. The problem is a time will come when the Government at the State and Federal level will have to choose between entitlement programs and infrastructure. I don’t see infrastructure funding winning that round.

1 Like

There is no reason why Air traffic Control should be paid from budget. It should be paid by everyone that uses the airspace, user fees. It’s already enough that the budget pays for GPS for everyone in the world to use free.

Hi, I’m new here (been lurking for a few months, just joined).

Here are some random links I’ve run across, I’m by no means an expert on the subject.

According to the FAA, much of the FAA’s funding (including air traffic control) comes from the “Airport and Airways Trust Fund”, which is funded by user fees. However, the FAA still requires periodic authorization from Congress to spend these fees. (FAA link) . I’m guessing that Congress didn’t authorize spending from the Trust Fund during the shutdown, resulting in US air traffic controllers working without pay.

Canada, on the other hand, privatized their ATC service in 1996, and it is funded entirely by user fees. This privatized entity is called Nav Canada. (Wikipedia link).

Off on a tangent: It turns out that Nav Canada owns 51% of Aireon LLC, which (as you probably already know) is partnering with FlightAware to provide space-based ADS-B services. (I can’t provide a link because I’m only allowed two).

Is there another country doing it like Canada? I couldn’t find another from Google search.

Romanian ATC is self-financed:
http://www.romatsa.ro/en/Statute