ADS-B Site Upgrade Reconditions

Hello,

Currently in the process of upgrading my ADS-B station what is located in the South West of the UK, need some advice on any changes I should make to the plan - as I’m relatively new to ADS-B tracking. At the moment I’m using:

Pi Zero, planning to upgrade to the newer version (Zero 2)
FA Pro Stick, no additional filter as I live in a rural area with not a lot of noise (although need a second opinion on this)
AirNav 1090 Antenna (Gain 7dBi, Impedance 50Ω±5Ω)

The main change at the moment what I’m planning is to mount all the equipment directly bellow the antenna in a waterproof box, which would be powered using POE. This would reduce the current 30 feet of 3D-FB which the antenna comes with by cutting it down. With a quick bit of research, the estimated loss is about 3-4dB for 1090MHz signals. At the moment I’m considering if this is worth the effort, or would the addition of filters and a preamp would give the best benefits to my setup at the moment.

If anyone wanted to view my current station, here is it: https://globe.adsbexchange.com/?feed=ixCt5aE_TuXt

Also included is a picture of a 24 hour period of data on graphs1090.

1 Like

Hi.
Regarding whether you need a filter or not, here’s how to find out:

Your noise level is rather high in your signal level graph. That could be due to interference in which case a filter would help, or because your gain is set way too high.

If you’re using the piaware 6.0/6.1 image or dump1090-fa 6.0/6.1 on a Raspbian install you can enable it’s adaptive gain features.

For other demodulators you can use this:

Compare yours to mine:
signal-level