your worst attempt to land at any airport

in 2002, we attempted to land at Cleveland Hopkins airport and was in final desent and actually hit the runway and went back up into air and ended up in Pittsburgh, we were told that when they hit the runway, a TORNADO WARNING had been issued for Cuyahoga county and they did not want to take any chances…2 hrs later we went back to Cleveland…on Continental Airlines

I was going into KCLE, into 6L. The winds were 330 @ 25, it was the middle of winter and snowing about 2"/hr. EVERYONE was holding. I was a freight pilot, so I’m going to land. I was doing an IOE for a new hire, and thought I show him how it’s done. I had the GS and LOC pegged all the way down, I must have had 30 degree of correction. I broke out of minimums mashed the rudder to the floor and milked it onto the runway. As soon as the nose touched the runway the aircraft weather vaned into the wind and was now sliding down the r/w sideways. I must have to much time in boats b/c the first thing I did was push up just the left throttle. Now I’m pointing down the r/w but being pushed to the side. OK this is bad. Pushed both levers up and pulled back, I was about blue line -10. As we lifted off on the stall horn I heard “thump thumb.” Now we’re going up but the gear won’t go up.

After landing we find the gear wells packed with snow. I assume we hit the snow drifts on the side of the runway. It is by the grace of God I didn’t cartwheel that a/c down the runway.

Lessons learned and relearned.
If everyone is holding b/c of winds so should you.

When the r/w is covered with snow a gentle touch down is bad, plant it!

never show off for the new guy

carry clean undies, just in case

fly the a/c to the ground and on the ground.

I remember that landing every time I fly an ILS and esp. in the winter.

That’s my scariest landing, but I’d like to hear others as well. We can all learn from each other.