This topic will close a month after the last reply

“This topic will close a month after the last reply.”

It seems that all new threads have this now. We often get threads that are still very relevant that go for more than a month without new posts.

I feel this is quite a backwards step for the forum. Can the decision to enable this be reconsidered please?

3 Likes

I’m a great fan of having something like this in place (maybe with a different time limit) - there’s very little point in a new post to a years-old topic and it happens depressingly often. What do you think would be a good time limit?

2 Likes

I’ll assume that the topic isn’t deleted but no one can reply to it?

If that’s the case 1 month isn’t that short. A lot of the current topics are constantly replied to and anything older than that has generally been resolved if it was about a problem.

I’m an admin of a very large UK technology and general chat forum with over 100,000 members and we considered implementing this but decided against it as it’s not uncommon for threads to remain idle for some months and even over a year before being followed up again.

If we have to have it, how about six months?

2 Likes

Here we go - A prime example where a new post after four years is still relevant.

I disagree; this is exactly the sort of case where a new topic with a link back to the old topic would be better. I know I can’t remember what was in that thread from four years ago and I’m not going to go back and read 23 posts worth of old information for the sake of working out what one new post is on about.

After such a long gap, the new post needs to stand on its own or it’s not so useful.

(Discourse will conveniently note it on the original topic if you link from a new topic back to it, so anyone stumbling across the old topic can still find the new stuff)