taking better photos

flightaware.com/photos/view/8351 … ews/page/8
I need and opion on how to make pictures like this better. I am using a Kodak Z981 and I never seem to get the whole picture. Should I back off on the zoom a little or what? Any feed back on this would be helpful. I also have it set at 6 megapixels should I go higher or what? Thank You members of Flightaware.

I usually hold back on the zoom until I’ve gotten use to my spotting area. I never used editing software mainly because I don’t own one and I really don’t want to spend the time editing photos (I average about 50 per week, I don’t post them all though). Even if you don’t clean up photos, cropping photos takes 5 seconds max for me so I hold off.

Regarding your photo, it might have looked better if you took the photo while the aircraft is facing you. I always like the airplane somewhat angled towards me if it’s possible plus it would have solved the zoom problem. I’m not an expert but these are just my opinions.

Try a tripod or a monopod to eliminate a bit of “camera shake”.

The other thing to remember about moving objects crossing from one side of the frame to another is to increase the shutter speed to freeze the subject.

There are plenty of educational camera sites on the web these days, and with a quick google search I found this site, which looks pretty useful:

digicamhelp.com/taking-photo … eed-chart/

“To help prevent images from becoming blurred, set the shutter speed faster than the focal length. For example, a zoom lens set at 200mm (35mm equivalent) requires a shutter speed of at least 1/200 second to avoid a blurred image. Adjust shutter speeds even faster for DSLRs with a focal length multiplier .”

Your photo could also be more interesting if it had some sort of reference. Give the plane some room. Zoom out a bit and let the viewer see some foreground or background.

The best advice is to keep shooting.