FlightAware Discussions

System hangs/freezes after exactly 24 hrs

I am a newbie running a Rasp Pi 4 2Gb with a Pro stick and flight aware 3.8.1 and dump1090-fa. It is a new system and nothing else is running. I normally connect to pi over wifi using VNC viewer or Putty. The system works well but it seems to freeze after exactly 24 hrs give or take a minute or so. After the freeze I cant connect by VNC or Putty. The Pi aware map web page gives the following error-
Problem fetching data from dump1090. AJAX call failed (timeout: timeout). Maybe dump1090 is no longer running?
The displayed map data will be out of date.

I need to disconnect power and restart and all is well for another 24 hrs.

I have checked SD card is seated, the power supply is genuine Raspberry, the Pi is on a fixed IP address. I was about to try a full reinstall of all software and try running over a wired connection , as I dont know if this is a wifi issue or hardware/software problem. I thought it was worth asking in case anyone knows if there may be another reason for this as it happens every 24 hours exactly?

I would be suspicious about this. A 24 hour timeout sounds very like a DHCP lease expiring to me.

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion. I have checked my router settings and the ip address is definitely reserved, but I think you have cracked it!

I have 2 Pi’s one dedicated to Pi-hole, and the other one with the problem, running Piaware and dump1090-fa only. Both show as reserved in my router table however, I forgot I am using a Pi as a DHCP server. I checked the Pi-hole settings and leases renew every 24 hrs. I have assigned a static lease now on Pi-hole control panel. Hopefully SOLVED.

Thanks for the help.

You could possibly be encountering a dhcpcd bug mentioned here: PiAware won't reconnect to wifi network if it drops off (warning, long and confusing thread, it took a while to work out exactly what was breaking)