Solved: Installation instructions for PiAware appear incorrect

I’m a former network engineer and feel comfortable with all things related to PC’s and was idly installing the piAware app. I ran into a problem, however. It says in order to get the wifi running on the device one needs to open up the sdCard on which piAware is installed and alter a config file.

This doesn’t seem to be possible. Any attempt to open the drive creates a pop-up dialog asking to "Insert disk into USB drive. This is Windows 10.

This seems like absurdly basic stuff. What am I missing.

1 Like

If you have used balena etcher or raspberry pi imager to write the image, upon completion of write, it ejects the microSD card, although it is physically still plugged in.

Unplug and replug the USB card reader (with microSD card in it) and try again to open the drive.

2 Likes

I removed the device, re-inserted it several times. I then removed the micro-USB drive from the adapter. Then reinserted the adapter. The drive then came up with a list of files. This is absurd. Very few users will be able to navigate this experience.

Better use Win32DiskImager. It does NOT eject the microSD card after write is completed, and you can open the drive without unplugging and replugging the card reader/microSD card.

1 Like

Haven’t seen that problem reported before. Since you’re comfortable with technology can you experiment and try to work out if it’s something specific to your machine?

You could also try the Raspberry Pi Imager to see if that works any better for you.

I’ll see if I can get the instructions updated to clarify. FWIW it’s not necessary on e.g. Linux with Etcher, and the current Windows instructions do already say to eject/remove the drive after flashing.

To see if it’s specific to my machine I’d need a bunch of Raspberry Pi 4’s, which I don’t have. I may have some network gremlins, however.

Uh, I thought the problem you were having was on your Windows machine.