PiAware Setup in good location tracks poorly

Hi, I’m very new to this and decided to setup a PiAware. I used the current img so I’m running 1.18 right now. In in new Rochelle, NY 40.909749, -73.783208 in a high rise, on the 38th floor. I have my antenna on a window ledge, floor to ceiling windows, with a line of sight East to South. No obstruction whatsoever yet I’m tracking VERY poorly. I recycled an old domain of mine if you want to see live data dclairity.com/
Also my stats are flightaware.com/adsb/stats/user/marc2912 I’m trying to see if anyone has any recommendations on what this could be caused by.

EDIT: Also I am using the dongle per the how to: amazon.com/gp/product/B009U7WZCA as my antenna.

If you’re using that stock antenna, it will not have very good performance at all. I was able to cut off the antenna to the proper length for the 1090MHz frequency and it does work better, however it’s not any better than the two antennas I have that were built for this purpose.

There could also be some coating on the windows that impacts its performance.

Also, it’s possible that you’re receiving some various radio signals from cell/tv/radio towers that is over driving the dongle and causing it to have a hard time to see the ADS-B signals. A proper filter should help that if it’s the case (and if it’s a good filter, it wouldn’t hurt anything by installing it)

Do you have any recommendations for alternate antenna I could use with the Pi? Same for filter. As I said totally new to this.

minicircuits.com/pdfs/VBFZ-1065+.pdf

Band pass filter

I have another post about this from the other day. You can look at.

See this multiple page thread regarding antennas. viewtopic.php?t=19517

Marty

thanks marty

How much difference did the filter make in number of aircraft or positions reported?

I know how a bandpass filter functions. Build a few in my ol’ college days when “borrowing” pay cable was a simple analog hack.