KHEG Pilot lands (N175SP) safely on I 10 WB

http://www.firstcoastnews.com/news/topstories/news-article.aspx?storyid=164985

I am an ARFF firefighter at KJAX and heard about this incident happening across town on Interstate 10 westbound. The aircraft left from KHEG Herlong and soon lost one engine followed shortly therafter by the second. The pilot flew under powerlines and above vehicles on the highway. The pilot and passenger escapes serious injury after the aaircraft skidded to a stop just off the highway near the Publix warehouse. Our ARFF crew at KVQQ Cecil Field sent one vehicle to the incident along with several structural firefighting apparatus and the Hazmat team.

:laughing: :laughing: Dont you just love it…plane is a Cessna 172…thats one hell of a cool looking 172… complete with two fans and an Aero Commander style body!! What was I thinking… :laughing:

flightaware.com/photos/view/1682 … tes/page/1

Comments on article are hysterical.

One being

Both engines failed ? ? ? Sounds like contaminated fuel…what’s the pilot runnin…BP ? ? ?

I am pretty sure it is not a cessna, but more like an Aero Commander. Any thought?

:laughing: Every bit of an Aero Commander shipmate.

They probably just Googled the tail number and found it was previously registered to the 172 and decided to use that without checking the number of engines. Got to love their fact-checking.

they must have corrected it. I just read the article and it said

According to Florida Highway Patrol spokesman Lt. Bill Leeper, the plane, a 1957 Aero Commander, took off from Herlong Airport on the Westside, lost an engine while heading west around 8 this morning.

Beech, not so according to the :
A Field Guide to Airplanes (Media Edition)

prop=cessna
jet=747
fighter=harrier/f-16
stealth fighter= b-2
stealth bomber=b-2
stealth=f-117
blue angels=blue angels
thunderbirds=blue angels
Snow birds=blue angels
J31, metro,dhc-6, dhc-7,dhc-8, sf3,atr, emb-120, etc=puddle jumper or the more pc commuter flight