FlightAware Discussions

Kernel Panic

I ran an update and full-upgrade on my pi and then got a Kernel Panic on reboot. It is stuck and I cannot do anything. I am not a coding expert, so I rely on forums and websites for help troubleshooting. I booted from a working SD and ran fsck on the piaware SD card. It did not help as I keep getting the Kernel Panic on power-up. I ran into the same problem about a month ago (stupid me for trying an upgrade again, thinking it would work this time). I ended up giving up troubleshooting and wiped the SD card and started from scratch. If there is a way to avoid starting from scratch, I’d like to try that. I have both piaware and FR24 feeding from dump1090. I also downloaded pihole. I was going to configure that, which led me to run an upgrade and now I’m at this point. Thanks in advance for your help.

You’re lacking details.
As the actual kernel panic and the pi hardware version.

If you want to run pihole … maybe don’t start with a piaware sd-card image but Raspberry OS lite instead?
Raspbian Lite: ADS B receiver · wiedehopf/adsb-wiki Wiki · GitHub

Oh pihole usually means mod_alias is missing so the local webinterfaces aren’t working properly, tar1090 fixes that now if you install it when pihole is already installed.
But that has nothing to do with your kernel panic.

I’d probably just for good measure use a physically different sd-card instead of just reflashing.

What does the kernel panic say?
What sdcard image are you using?
What hardware are you using?
Have you tried a physically different sdcard?

1 Like

That works without issues. I have this combination running since a few months.
Raspberry OS - PiHole - SkyAware/dump1090

I do not assume that the kernel panic is a result of this setup

Raspberry Pi Model B Plus Rev 1.2
SD Card: 16GB Samsung PRO