Interested in web service, need some help getting started

Hello there,

I would like to develop an app for a flight department, and am interested in adding functionality to it by using the web service available here at FlightAware.

I have no experience with web services, can someone point me to a good primer? Or even share some C# (I am coding the entire app in VS 2005 using C#) code integrating a web service into a Windows app?

Thanks,

Is this what you’re looking for: FlightAware > Commercial > DirectFlight > Examples > Microsoft .NET

Hey Daniel,

Thanks for posting back. I have seen that example, and my question is on the second code snippet, the one right after “Run commands”, is that supposed to be run in a command window?

I normally compile inside the IDE, I am not used to the command-line approach, that might be why I am a bit confused…

Also, do I need the DirectFlight.cs file? If so, where do I get it?

Thanks,

I’m not the .NET guy here so I can’t speak with real authority, but my understanding is that you can just run those commands in the same directory as your other .cs code for the application and it will generate the DirectFlight.cs that you need to compile it.

Hey Daniel,

Thanks again for following up.

I tried running wsdl flightaware.com/commercial/direc … /wsdl1.xml from a command line in my project’s directory, but wsdl is not a recognized command.

Anyone has any ideas?

Thanks,

BTW, I like to think I am fairly decent at searching the net. I have visited countless sites looking for info, and only found relatively in-depth tutorials, nothing on how to do some basic web service connections, like what I am trying to do.

Hi miguez. The wsdl.exe program is found in a directory something like “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\SDK\v1.1\Bin” but may depend on your IDE version. The best way to do this is to go to:

Start Menu → Visual Studio .NET 200x → Visual Studio .NET Tools → Visual Studio .NET 200x Command Prompt