FA 978 Antenna Mount Issues

No, not the issue where the mount screws don’t line up with the grooves on the sleeve (well, I have that as well), but another one.

First, H! I’m new to the world of ADS-B but definitely not to the world of RF (I started life as a microwave and ground radio tech in the USAF in the '70s) and I also happen to be a computer hardware/software engineer which makes me even more dangerous (mostly to myself).

Anyway, I ordered a pair of the FA 66cm antennae from Amazon on Thursday and the 978MHz one was delivered today. The Amazon description says “2.5 cm to 5 cm diameter mounting bracket included” which seemed perfect since I already have a roof mounted 3 mast triangle made from 1 1/2 in trade size (~48.5mm OD) conduit. Unfortunately, the actual mount seems to accommodate masts up to 5cm canadian cm (figuring the current USD<>CAD exchange rate). :slight_smile:

OK, no problem. I’ve got plenty of mounts but my question (probably to the FA staff) is… is the N connector attached to the sleeve solidly enough to support the antenna in 60MPH+ wind gusts (Colorado eastern slope foothills)?

I look forward to participating in the community more in the future, especially sharing some of my antenna designs. My latest creations are a 1090MHz spider with a 6.2db gain and an S11 return of -48db. I also have a 978MHz discone with a cone that’s 3D printed in conductive PLA. The jury’s still out on that one. :slight_smile:

I wouldn’t mount a bracket on the n connector.
Instead I would just use mast to mast brackets, or SS hose clamps, UV stabilized zip ties, etc, over the proper mount portion of the antenna.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07NVJ1C67/

Yeah I actually have some good mast clamps somewhere but where I do not know. I just happened to find the brackets first. I haven’t had problems with N mount antennas in the past and these are a lot lighter but I don’t want to cut one open to look at the back side of the connector.