Correct way to run lead from Antenna.

Hi Guys, I am a newbie here so please be gentle :slight_smile:

My setup is currently a borrowed Rasberry Pi with PiAware and a DVB-T dongle and wireless connection to the router. I started using the little aerial that came with the dongle and mounted it in a window facing NW. I am in Auckland, New Zealand and traffic is not high by comparison to many other cities around the world but with the stock aerial I was getting around 5000-6000 reports each day. Not surprisingly the traffic was mostly gathered from a NW direction.

With respect to Auckland, air traffic to and from international airports and domestically within New Zealand is mainly in the S-W, W-N and N-E quadrants with very little in the way of ADS-B equipped aircraft travelling in the E-S quadrant except the occasional LAN Chile flights going to South America. So, my coverage was a little underwhelming especially since I am at 600 feet elevation but was to be expected with an indoor aerial. Nevertheless, while the azimuth coverage was limited to the NW, the little stock aerial was happy detecting flights out to 200nm. After reading somewhere that a coffee tin placed under the aerial can help, I found I was getting 210-220nm ranges with a 235nm being the record for that arrangement. I calculated that was pretty close to the radio horizon. However, daily report stats were still low and coverage in other areas was either poor or non-existant so I decided to experiment with a homemade collinear aerial.

I used one of the many good tutorials on the net and made an eight element colliner with RG6 and a velocity factor of .83 which calculated out at 11.5 cm segments. This was taped to the NW facing window and connected to a BNC to MCX pigtail to access the Dongle receiver. Improvement was immediate. Coverage was now from North through West to South, reports are up to 25,000 per day and my record range is now 242nm.