Connection time needed at DFW.

Me and mom and dad may be connecting through Dfw on a Gso-Aus roundtrip this weekend it is my first time on American and at Dfw what is teh minium time needed to connect from an AA eagle flight onto a Mainline flight to Austin. Im only going from Eagle to Mainline on one segment the home dfw-gso is on a mad dog.

It’s a very large airport and AA is spread out amongst many smaller terminals. They’re all connected by a train and it’s pretty efficient. If AA booked your connections then you don’t have much to worry about.

The new train does the full loop in about 10 minutes (and also offers great views of the ramp) so your connection will be at WORST 15 minutes. The new train operates on the airside and is a vast improvement over the old TrAAin that operated on the groundside and required that you go back through security.

I just made a similar connection on my way from MKE to AUS (Eagle to AA). The SkyLink at DFW is your friend…don’t try to walk between terminals if your connection is less than 45 mins. The escalator up to the SkyLink is every 30 gates or so; look for the blue(?) signs. Likely AA gave you at least 30 mins at DFW.

yeah Hour Twenty Five both ways.

Thought it would be real easy to find minimum connecting times on the American Airlines site. It’s ain’t. I did find the times here. The minimums for a domestic to domestic flight connection at DFW is 40 minutes. There’s a footnote that says SF3<->SF3 has a connection time of 30 minutes.

The American Airlines website, unfortunately, is a piece of crap when it comes to searching for something. You’d also think that if the PDF timetable shows only direct and nonstop flights there would be something there about creating connections and the minimum time required between flights.

Airlines don’t set minimum connect times, airports do.

Google it and you will find it.

That’s how I found it.

Allen

BS, Allen.