What is the right plane for me?

I am a brand new pilot with about 80 hours. I fly commercially 2-3 times per week putting on seminars throughout the West Coast. I have an opportunity to buy a Turbo Saratoga or a Beech Bonanza,both great planes. I usually travel with my wife and 300lbs of equipment. I told my instructor I wanted to buy the Beech or the Saratoga and his comment was “Buy a smaller plane and build hours, then in a few years upgrade, the Saratoga/Beech will be too much of a plane”

What do you think, would the Beech or Saratoga be too much of a plane for my first plane?

<What do you think, would the Beech or Saratoga be too much of a plane for my first plane?>

Legally no, practically yes. Don’t jump straight from a go cart to Indy Cars.
Rent a 172 sized airplane for another 50 hours or so then upgrade yourself to a 182 or equivalent for another 100. Get your instrument rating and 250TT THEN look seriously at the Bonanza/Saratoga. Both are good airplanes, pluses and minuses to any airplane but both are good. The insurance costs alone will kill you with a high performance airplane and not much experience

I recommend the Beech Bonanza. You have advanced far enough to fly one safely with proper training. The Bonanza is a great airplane, and it flies well and handles a big load. Find a Bonanza-owner CFII and integrate your IFR training into the insurance check-out. (There are a lot of them in CA.) Continue with the IFR training. By the time you have your instrument rating you will be a good and safe Bonanza pilot. I did this in a C210 many years ago when I had approx. 100 hours. I flew that plane without accident or incident for 350 hours over the next 1.5 years.

A Bonanza is not too much airplane. BTW, I own a Bonanza and have approx. 1,700 hours in the BE35. I have trained many pilots with low hours in Bonanzas.