All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Piper Saratoga Lean of Peak operations
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:04 pm 
qbreland - FlightAware user avatar

I have gotten multiple conflicting opinions/reports on this topic, so I'll throw it out to the board. Is it safe/wise/risky/etc to run a 1993 Piper Saratoga's 300hp Lycoming lean of peak? I only have one CHT gauge and an EGT gauge.

What fuel burn are others getting at altitude?

Post subject: Re: Piper Saratoga Lean of Peak operations
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:40 pm 
FlightAware Member
davysims - FlightAware user avatar

qbreland wrote:
I have gotten multiple conflicting opinions/reports on this topic, so I'll throw it out to the board. Is it safe/wise/risky/etc to run a 1993 Piper Saratoga's 300hp Lycoming lean of peak? I only have one CHT gauge and an EGT gauge.

What fuel burn are others getting at altitude?

Although I have zero experience with a Saratoga, the common wisdom I have usually heard on LOP operations is to only do so if you have a an engine anaylzer that shows CHTs for all cylinders. That way you don't chance burning out one cylinder that is running a little leaner than the one you have a CHT for.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:10 pm 
FlightAware Member
flyboy97222 - FlightAware user avatar

Do not run the TIO-540 Lean of Peak. If you want it to last run it 150 degrees Rich of peak.
what ever you do STAGE COOL, STAGE COOL, STAGE COOL.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:38 pm 
FlightAware Member
185Driver - FlightAware user avatar

If you install GAMI injectors & a 6 point egt/cht monitor; then it is okay, only when pulling less than 70-65% power.

The folks at GAMI have a lot of research on this and really know their stuff.
Most all the old propliners ran lean of peak in cruise (AT LOW POWER)

If you want power; then you need to burn something... & I highly suggest it be fuel and not your pistons and cylinders.