Why does flight aware want as many sites as possible?

Hello all,

I’m new to this ADB-S stuff. I recently purchased a couple of Raspberry Pi devices to play with. I had a Nooelec SDR receiver lying around and figured I’d try and marry them together and learn a little about RPI.
Some fellow ham friends were talking about setting up an ADS-B feeder site. So here it is.

What I’m curious of is why the Flightaware folks want so many of these sites up and feeding data to them? What are they doing with the data? I’m a pilot and enjoy it as much as the next guy but I don’t understand the driving attitude to get more sites up. To me it’s kind of a neat technology and teaching/learning exercise to set it all up and see it work.
Is Flightaware selling this data to the airlines for tracking purposes? Is the govt. using it to track aircraft? I doubt it’s the latter since its to easy to just turn off the transponder. This data appears to be valuable for some reason. How come the aircraft I see in my area don’t show up on Flightradar24 but it does on Flightaware?
It shows me as an Enterprise contributor or something like that. An 89.00 dollar value. What would I get get for 89.00 dollars?

Anyone know why?

The more users, in theory, the more accurate the data should be and the more coverage they get. Lots of people are into aviation and technology and love the information this provides. Other sites also reward contributors with free memberships. For example I have a weather station and submit my readings to Weather Underground and get a free premium membership for it. They compile the information from weather stations to provide a more accurate and localized forecast. That said I’m not sure if FA shares the data they get from us.

With the enterprise account, you get access to non public data. You can see flights that don’t have flight plans.