All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 429 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 18  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:35 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jepolch - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Posts: 497
obj wrote:
basic support in dump1090-mutability here

You need to download the json file and put it in dump1090's html dir by hand, as heywhatsthat.com doesn't allow cross-origin script access to the API so the map script can't just request it directly.


I'm having trouble getting this working. I followed wnypoker's instructions to the letter. In 'vi' I used ':set list' to make sure I didn't have any extraneous characters in the file. It looks good. Now I see this about the upintheair.json. Do I need that as well as wnypoker's instructions? I did 'wget' my json file as described below. Do I need to update/rebuild dump1090-muta to get this to work?

in /usr/share/dump1090-mutability/html I have added the files

1) 12000.js (my javascript file with coords as per wnypoker
2) modified script.js
3) modified gmap.html
4) upintheair.json downloaded with wget from mutability (this produced a populated file)

I'm just getting the endless spinner. :(


Edit: Nevermind. :oops: Got it working. Thanks to all. This is great! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:16 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2036
Location: Toronto CYYZ
jepolch wrote:
............
Edit: Nevermind. :oops: Got it working. Thanks to all. This is great! :D

Congratulations! Did you find what went wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:21 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jepolch - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Posts: 497
abcd567 wrote:
jepolch wrote:
............
Edit: Nevermind. :oops: Got it working. Thanks to all. This is great! :D

Congratulations! Did you find what went wrong?

It wasn't working when I followed wnypoker's instructions (sorry). Next I created the upintheair.json and it worked. I got confused reading this thread. Probably just me being dense. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:52 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2036
Location: Toronto CYYZ
jepolch wrote:
abcd567 wrote:
jepolch wrote:
............
Edit: Nevermind. :oops: Got it working. Thanks to all. This is great! :D

Congratulations! Did you find what went wrong?

It wasn't working when I followed wnypoker's instructions (sorry). Next I created the upintheair.json and it worked. I got confused reading this thread. Probably just me being dense. :lol:

wnypoker's instructions came first, and were ok.
Shortly after that, obj included necessary coding in script.js and also included a script to pull the json file automatically when user enter their heywhatsthat ID, but the heywhtsthat site had restrictions to automatic pull of the json data. Then obj added a comment in the script.js file, as well as posted in this thread, advising users to pull the json data manually by wget command.
obj's mods have made wnypoker's steps unnecessary.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:02 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
love that heywhatsthat reach rings - thanks to abcd + lignumaqua for sharing.
does anyone already integrated them in virtual-radar-server?

click picture to enlarge
Image


Last edited by TomMuc on Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 9:04 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jepolch - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Posts: 497
abcd567 wrote:
wnypoker's instructions came first, and were ok.
Shortly after that, obj included necessary coding in script.js and also included a script to pull the json file automatically when user enter their heywhatsthat ID, but the heywhtsthat site had restrictions to automatic pull of the json data. Then obj added a comment in the script.js file, as well as posted in this thread, advising users to pull the json data manually by wget command.
obj's mods have made wnypoker's steps unnecessary.

Thanks! That clears up my confusion.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:10 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3557
abcd567 wrote:
Shortly after that, obj included necessary coding in script.js and also included a script to pull the json file automatically when user enter their heywhatsthat ID, but the heywhtsthat site had restrictions to automatic pull of the json data. Then obj added a comment in the script.js file, as well as posted in this thread, advising users to pull the json data manually by wget command.
obj's mods have made wnypoker's steps unnecessary.

Just to be clear, this isn't really something that heywhatsthat is limiting, it is a general browser security restriction on javascript that forbids cross-origin resource sharing, i.e. a script cannot request data from a different domain unless it's explicitly permitted by the datasource.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross-ori ... ce_sharing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:19 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2036
Location: Toronto CYYZ
@obj
Thanks for clarification about cross origin resource sharing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:58 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
... finally did a small (quick and dirty) change in dump1090 look with heywhatsthat rings:

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:15 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
lignumaqua - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:05 am
Posts: 125
Location: Austin, TX
I've been experimenting with live plotting the maximum range within the normal dump1090 Google map. In the image below, the red and blue polygons are the 10,000 ft and 30,000 ft predicted polygons from HeyWhatsThat.com.

The green polygon is continuously updated as new positions come in showing the maximum range actually achieved in the current session at any altitude. Actually the polygon is saved in browser Local Storage, so it will survive between web sessions and you can keep building it up for as long as you like. It's quite interesting to reset this and then watch as aircraft move and 'push' the polygon larger. :lol: The map shown here was after about 6 hours of collecting data for the range polygon.

It follows the shape of the predicted 30,000 ft contour fairly well. I'm not sure if the dead area south west of San Antonio is because I can't see it, or because it's just not an area where flights normally track. I ought to plot the 40,000 ft contour instead I think.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:44 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
mgunther - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 330
lignumaqua wrote:
I've been experimenting with live plotting the maximum range within the normal dump1090 Google map.

This looks interesting! Is this something you can share, i.e. what changes/additions did you make to various files?
And btw, your name and avatar sounded and looked vaguely familiar... now the penny dropped! Of course, the GSAK stats macro :) I actually need to update that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:50 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
lignumaqua - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:05 am
Posts: 125
Location: Austin, TX
mgunther wrote:
lignumaqua wrote:
I've been experimenting with live plotting the maximum range within the normal dump1090 Google map.

This looks interesting! Is this something you can share, i.e. what changes/additions did you make to various files?
And btw, your name and avatar sounded and looked vaguely familiar... now the penny dropped! Of course, the GSAK stats macro :) I actually need to update that.

Yep, that's me! :) One crazy hobby seems to lead to more. All the work I did on adding maps to GSAK has been useful here.

Happy to share, let me tidy things up a little and add comments and I'll post my files. I've made quite a lot of changes, and you likely won't want all of them. Cleaned up the CSS and made the layout responsive so it works on tablets and phones as well as large screens, also added altitude labels, and the option to show tracks for all aircraft, not just the selected one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:14 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
mgunther - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 330
lignumaqua wrote:
Happy to share, let me tidy things up a little and add comments and I'll post my files. I've made quite a lot of changes, and you likely won't want all of them. Cleaned up the CSS and made the layout responsive so it works on tablets and phones as well as large screens, also added altitude labels, and the option to show tracks for all aircraft, not just the selected one.

Thank you very much and take your time! You may also consider sharing your work on https://github.com/mutability/dump1090


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:42 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sesom - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:18 am
Posts: 62
Location: EDDN/NUE
lignumaqua wrote:
Yep, that's me! :)


Recognized your avatar some weeks ago, so now we are 3 using GSAK and FA :)

lignumaqua wrote:
Happy to share, let me tidy things up a little and add comments and I'll post my files.


Can't wait to try your code, that is something I always wanted to implement but never the time for. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:16 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
lignumaqua - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:05 am
Posts: 125
Location: Austin, TX
I'm not 100% sure this is the correct way to do this :? but I've forked the dump1090 github project to here: https://github.com/lignumaqua/dump1090

The files changed are all in the public_html folder:

    formatter.js
    gmap.html
    planeObject.js
    script.js
    style.css

and I've added a file:

    maplabel.js

I've not issued any pull-requests to the main dump1090-mutability at the moment. If any of them are popular then happy to do so. For now, just pull them down from the repository and overwrite manually if you want to try them.


The edits are:

1. CSS changes to convert the sidebar into an HTML5 flexbox.
This means that the planes table will grow/shrink as necessary and, if a scroll bar is needed, it will only appear on the planes table, not the entire sidebar.

Image


2. CSS is somewhat responsive so now deals with smaller screens better.
With narrow screens the sidebar table is hidden and header becomes transparent. Data for a selected aircraft will also show transparently.

Image


3. Option to show tracks for all aircraft, not just the one selected.

Image Image


4. Shows dynamic maximum range polygon.
Dark green polygon in screenshot. This will grow 'live' as tracked flights push it out. Polygon is stored in the browser local storage but may be reset to just the current history at any time.

Image Image


5. Show altitude label above each plane icon.
(Could easily show speed, flight level, or anything else)

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:23 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
mgunther - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 330
Fantastic! I will be away this weekend but will surely try it next week.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:37 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
tjowen - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:17 am
Posts: 378
lignumaqua wrote:
The files changed are all in the public_html folder:

    formatter.js
    gmap.html
    planeObject.js
    script.js
    style.css

and I've added a file:

    maplabel.js

I've not issued any pull-requests to the main dump1090-mutability at the moment. If any of them are popular then happy to do so. For now, just pull them down from the repository and overwrite manually if you want to try them.


Thank you for posting your work and very well done.

Can you outline how to download just the above files? Sorry, but I GIT challenged. :)

P.S. I've managed to get the raw files downloaded and am testing now thank you.
..Tom


Last edited by tjowen on Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:38 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2036
Location: Toronto CYYZ
I will give it a try on Ubuntu_Vivid_Mate on my Orange Pi PC next weekend. The problem is my knowledge is nearly zero when it comes to compiling Linux code and building package. Will search for some tutorial on internet. In late 1990s, I have done self study of C & C++ (as hobby, not as education or profession). I vaugely remember terms like gcc and g++ when I compiled my code, but I forgot all due to disuse.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:53 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ieand - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:20 am
Posts: 104
Great work lignumaqua, its works fine for me on Debian jessie_mini for OrangePi PC.

@abcd, just rename the relivant files in "/usr/share/dump1090-mutability/html" in case you need to restore them then copy in the ones from lignumaqua's git hub link.
Restart dump1090-mutability and all done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:36 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
lignumaqua - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:05 am
Posts: 125
Location: Austin, TX
Right. No compiling or building required. These are just html and javascript files (all the rest of the deep Dump1090 code is well above my pay grade!). All that's needed is copying over (and backing up the old files as suggested). No restart of anything needed just a browser refresh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:50 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2036
Location: Toronto CYYZ
ieand wrote:
Great work lignumaqua, its works fine for me on Debian jessie_mini for OrangePi PC.

@abcd, just rename the relivant files in "/usr/share/dump1090-mutability/html" in case you need to restore them then copy in the ones from lignumaqua's git hub link. 
Restart dump1090-mutability and all done.

lignumaqua wrote:
Right. No compiling or building required. These are just html and javascript files (all the rest of the deep Dump1090 code is well above my pay grade!). All that's needed is copying over (and backing up the old files as suggested). No restart of anything needed just a browser refresh.

Thanks iead & lignumaqua, you made my life easy. Will give it a try soon.


Last edited by abcd567 on Fri Jan 15, 2016 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:01 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
crkbday - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:57 pm
Posts: 93
lignumaqua wrote:

Nice change. Worked like a charm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:02 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
crkbday - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:57 pm
Posts: 93
tjowen wrote:
Can you outline how to download just the above files? Sorry, but I GIT challenged. :)

These few lines will pull the latest files and *clean up* by removing the just created local repo.

Code:
git clone -n https://github.com/lignumaqua/dump1090 --depth 1
cd ./dump1090
git checkout HEAD:public_html formatter.js gmap.html planeObject.js script.js style.css maplabel.js
rm -rf ./.git


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:25 pm 
Offline
GeorgLichtblau - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:28 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Austria
sesom wrote:
lignumaqua wrote:
Yep, that's me! :)


Recognized your avatar some weeks ago, so now we are 3 using GSAK and FA :)


Same here... now we are 4 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What is the Maximum Range I can Get?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:49 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sesom - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:18 am
Posts: 62
Location: EDDN/NUE
Thanks for sharing, your changes work fine! I modified the scripts a little bit to match my usual colors, but the green range and the better flight table are great. Albeit my antenna is on the roof, I am surrounded by some higher buildings, especially in the west. In the south the alps seem to be the limit. The main routes over my location are from NW to SE (London/Amsterdam/Frankfurt to the middle east, I see a lot of traffic from Etihad, Emirates, Qatar and other middle eastern airlines at specific times).

Image

Outer ring is 150 nm.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 429 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: invergordon and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: