Rg6 cable

Quick question, I’m in the middle of setting up my antenna outside, but was wondering if running 100-150ft of rg6 cable will result in a lot of signal loss? I’m using the fa antenna, filter and dongle but there will be 100ft (at least) of rg6 cable before the wire connects to my filter anddongle.

I’m looking at rg6 because of cost. Is there another low cost alternative.

RG6 has over 6db loss at 100 ft and 1Ghz, 9db at 150ft.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RG-6

6db will be losing 75% of the signal
9db will be losing 86% of the signal
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RG-6

You may want to try a mast head amp with an RTL-SDR can can supply power via Bias-T.
100-150ft is a really long run at 1+Ghz using RG6 without an Amp.

Darn. I have no way of powering anything at the mast. Is there another type of cable that would work over that length? I thought the FA dongle would be enough to amplify the signal :frowning:

What sort of amplifier would work? Could you link me? I’m new to all of this cable stuff.

With a masthead amplifier, you put the amplifier near the antenna, a power source (bias-T on the dongle itself, or a separate power injector) at the other end of the cable near the dongle. and the amplifier is powered over the antenna cable itself.

Generally you want to be amplifying as close to the antenna as you can, essentially because you preserve more of the signal/noise ratio by doing it earlier.

Low cost satellite amplifier 950 to 2150 or 2500 Mhz 14v to 18 v DC. In this sketch I have shown model RCA D903 which I used, but there are heaps of other makes available. Search ebay or amazon for key words Satellite Amplifier. Take care not to buy one with low frequency as low as 47 mhz. Buy one with low frequency 950 Mhz. The 47 mhz one are intended to also amplify free to air TV vhf / uhf channels and FM signals, and will overload the DVBT/ProStick.

1. Nearer the amplifier to the antenna, better.