All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:17 pm 
Offline
emartin35411 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 11
I plan on moving my setup to a weatherproof box on the roof and my dilemma is powering it. I could keep the Pi in the attic and run coax to the antenna or put everything in a box near the antenna, the coax run would probably be 25 feet of lmr400 uf. Since the Pi is using WiFi I don't need Ethernet so I was wondering how to go about using PoE just for power only. The other issue is the outlet is only a 2 prong outlet. So my question is what exactly would I need to power it with PoE in terms of hardware as far as injectors and splitters? I know the loss would be minimal with lmr 400 but loss is loss.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:50 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
biekerc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:17 am
Posts: 59
Why don't you just use a normal power cable for power?

For a POE, You need one injector and one splitter, e.g

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Gigabit-Ethernet-Injector-TL-PoE150S/dp/B001PS9E5I/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1492368212&sr=8-3&keywords=poe&th=1 T

The link shows the injector, splitter, both compliant with the POE standard, and a cheaper set, which isn't.

The cheapest solution is a set like this https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-Passive-Injector-Ethernet/dp/B01J6JP8XE/ref=pd_sim_147_4?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B01J6JP8XE&pd_rd_r=5RNBJHYE5RZTK6GBJG22&pd_rd_w=IVLFu&pd_rd_wg=brIng&psc=1&refRID=5RNBJHYE5RZTK6GBJG22.

Not according to any POE-standard, but it seems to work as well. Not sure what is the max length, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:45 pm 
Offline
emartin35411 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 11
The run is about 25 feet. if they have a power cable that long it would be an easy solution. suppose I could run an extension cord maybe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:40 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
biekerc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:17 am
Posts: 59
On second thoughts, a power cable is, well, a power cable, so there are probably a lot of things one has to keep in mind using them permanently outdoors, like grounding or a GFCI device?

That might also be true with regards to POE. Maybe a run of lm400 isn't such a bad idea after all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:51 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
edgy - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:00 pm
Posts: 197
Location: KTIK
PoE will do what you want. Use a Pi with ethernet, don't use WiFi.

You can get a single PoE injector, but I bought a switch so I can run two IP phones and a couple of Video cameras. Think ahead if you ever plan on having cameras. PoE is probably cheaper than coax, and it's 48 volts and not 120 or 220 volts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:45 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
Feeding 5V on long PoE cable may cause excessive voltage drop and low voltage at RPi.

For long PoE cables, a 48V DC supply at router/switch, and a down convertor to 5V at RPi works satisfactorily.

Image

Below is one such complete kit. This item is given as an example for guidance only. If you search Amazon and eBay, you will find many other makes and prices.

https://www.amazon.com/itm/dp/B004UBUB7C

The kit contains:
Power Adapter AC to 48V DC
Power Cord
PoE Injector 48V DC
Ethernet Cable
PoE Splitter with integral down convertor to 12/9/5 V DC (dc output voltage selectable by a switch)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:25 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jonhawkes2030 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:15 pm
Posts: 1063
Location: NYC
I power an odroid xu4 and a radarcape in my attic via Poe with 150ft cat 5 cable.
Just ensure the 5V is rated for 2.5 amps. It should work up to 330ft.

I use a switch to power the radarcape and 2 RPI3s in the basement.
The Odroid requires 4 amps so needed a POE + injector and splitter.
They have been running well for a year.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:34 pm 
Offline
emartin35411 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:00 am
Posts: 11
Awesome thanks! Do you know if the power adapter is 2 prong? the run is only going to be 25 feet:-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:51 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
I have just now checked the specs of TP-Link kit I gave as an example.

Overview: http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/deta ... l#overview

Specs: http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/deta ... ifications

I found it does not specify output power (W) or current (A) of splitter. It only specifies DC output current of 48V adapter.

Power Supply Unit of PoE Injector:
Input: 100~240VAC
Output: 48V, 0.5A Switching PSU

Output Power For PoE Splitter:
12/9/5VDC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:56 am 
Offline
infomb - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:54 am
Posts: 18
I'm no technical expert, but for 'remote power supply' a friend of mine uses these two plugs (available in Germany) and an adequate cable for several meters:

a) https://www.conrad.de/de/usb-steckverbinder-mit-schraubanschluss-stecker-gerade-lt-usb4m-usb-stecker-typ-a-conrad-components-inhalt-1-st-595238.html?gclid=COiwt9n1q9MCFQUUGwodP04P7g&insert_kz=VQ&hk=SEM&WT.srch=1&WT.mc_id=google_pla&s_kwcid=AL!222!3!190748622409!!!g!!&ef_id=WPTubwAABOwPofxm:20170417163351:s

b) https://www.conrad.de/de/usb-steckverbinder-mit-schraubanschluss-stecker-gerade-mn-usb4m-micro-usb-stecker-typ-b-conrad-components-inhalt-1-st-595240.html?gclid=CKik8Of3q9MCFcOVGwodUHsObA&insert_kz=VQ&hk=SEM&WT.srch=1&WT.mc_id=google_pla&s_kwcid=AL!222!3!190748622439!!!g!!&ef_id=WPTubwAABOwPofxm:20170417164318:s

I don't know if similar USB plugs are offered in USA/Canada and what's the maximum useable lenght (cable).
It's just a suggestion ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:04 pm 
Offline
AlpineMeadows - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:07 am
Posts: 25
abcd567 wrote:
I found it does not specify output power (W) or current (A) of splitter. It only specifies DC output current of 48V adapter.


The user's manual for this says
12V/1A
9V/1A
5V/2A

Manual is here
http://static.tp-link.com/resources/doc ... _Guide.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Skibox - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:33 pm
Posts: 84
POE is great. If possble, go for real, AF-compliant POE. It will only apply power after being "asked" for it, and will protect non-POE devices, if you plug them in.

Some cheap non-standard POE stuff WILL fry your non-POE devices if you forget, and plug them in without the POE splitter.

/M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:50 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
Skibox wrote:
POE is great. If possble, go for real, AF-compliant POE. It will only apply power after being "asked" for it, and will protect non-POE devices, if you plug them in.

Some cheap non-standard POE stuff WILL fry your non-POE devices if you forget, and plug them in without the POE splitter.

/M

AF-compliant:

Injector TP-Link TL-PoE150S
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001PS9E5I

Splitter TP-Link TL-PoE10R
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003CFATQK


Injector User Guide / Specs:
http://static.tp-link.com/resources/doc ... _Guide.pdf

Splitter User Guide / Specs:
http://static.tp-link.com/resources/doc ... _Guide.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:03 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Skibox - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:33 pm
Posts: 84
abcd567 wrote:
AF-compliant:

Injector TP-Link TL-PoE150S
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001PS9E5I

Splitter TP-Link TL-PoE10R
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003CFATQK


These work well, I have used a Zyxel PoE switch and 2x TL-PoE10R to power an Rpi system AND a FR24 receiver using the same Eth cable for a year now without any problems.


Beware. The "PoE Kit TL-POE200" https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004UBUB7C/re ... UTF8&psc=1
often advertized together with the PoE150 and PoE10R is a cheaper version and NOT AF-compliant. It still works well, but should never be mixed with other units, and there is no guarantee that it will not damage a non-PoE device if plugged in by mistake. Also, it can NOT accept inline power (data + power on the same wires), necessary if you want to run PoE on 2 pairs.

It's easy to think that the "Kit" is just the 2 the units together, but it's not the same products!

/M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:16 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
andrew6721 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 5:06 am
Posts: 69
Location: Sydney, Australia
abcd567 wrote:
I have just now checked the specs of TP-Link kit I gave as an example.

Overview: http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/deta ... l#overview



I note that someone has mentioned that its 2A @ 5V out below.

Having said that, thats the one I use on my portable setup and it works like a dream. You just need a 2.5mm DC plug to miniUSB to power the Pi.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:03 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
PeterHR - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:02 am
Posts: 700
Location: UK
If using this...

biekerc wrote:
snip...
The cheapest solution is a set like this https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-Passive-Injector-Ethernet/dp/B01J6JP8XE/ref=pd_sim_147_4?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B01J6JP8XE&pd_rd_r=5RNBJHYE5RZTK6GBJG22&pd_rd_w=IVLFu&pd_rd_wg=brIng&psc=1&refRID=5RNBJHYE5RZTK6GBJG22.

Not according to any POE-standard, but it seems to work as well. Not sure what is the max length, though.


try...

shove 12-18v up the wire, then put one of these at the Pi end
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Micro-USB-OUTPU ... 2363207559


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 6:03 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
biekerc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:17 am
Posts: 59
Out of curiosity, I tested one of these cheap passive poe cable kits with a Raspbery Pi 2 with different cable length.

The results are rather disappointing, if not surprisingly so.

A 1m cable works fine, and with a quality 10m cable, the leds of the pi won't show even the slightest flicker.

With a 5m cable, the RPi on its own starts and would probably work fine, but with a FA Orange stick (or a cheap oem stick, for that matter) it does not boot, and when plugged in later, the Pi immediatley shuts down. I tested this with two different power supplies, a 5V 2A and a 5V 3A power supply.

I guess the solution, as stated above, is feeding at a higher voltage and convert it back, which is the same thing these other kits are doing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 7:52 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jonhawkes2030 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:15 pm
Posts: 1063
Location: NYC
POE feeds at 48V. You should be fine up to 300ft/100m with quality components.
My runs are 150 ft and one device requires 4-5Amps so I had to go with POE+.
My cable is overkill, cat5e STP. UTP cat5 should be fine. I did try cat 6 STP but it was too think for the hole in the side of my house, at the time (I have since enlarged it to 1"/25mm).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 12:04 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Skibox - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:33 pm
Posts: 84
biekerc wrote:
Out of curiosity, I tested one of these cheap passive poe cable kits with a Raspbery Pi 2 with different cable length.
The results are rather disappointing, if not surprisingly so.


We all know that, that is why we recommend at least active POE at 24 or 48 V (with down-conversion to 5V), or preferably AF-compliant POE which is always 48V on the cable.

/M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:42 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
biekerc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:17 am
Posts: 59
Skibox wrote:
biekerc wrote:
Out of curiosity, I tested one of these cheap passive poe cable kits with a Raspbery Pi 2 with different cable length.
The results are rather disappointing, if not surprisingly so.


We all know that, that is why we recommend at least active POE at 24 or 48 V (with down-conversion to 5V), or preferably AF-compliant POE which is always 48V on the cable.

/M


You are right, still, some people apparently found it useful (see amazon reviews), that's why I checked it out, that is part of the fun (until you fry someting :D ) .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote power for Pi
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 5:08 pm 
Offline
Ljungskile - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:10 am
Posts: 3
A DIY way of powering a raspberry pi over ethernet (or any other cable) is using a lm2596 voltage regulator.
I have run one on 50meter ethernet for over a year now.

And this week I felt for pushing the limits a little.
This setup is on over 100M ethernet (my guess is 120meter, cat6), I use 3 different power supplies in series (12+12+15 = 39Volt) as a feed.
The station is on a hill behind my house.

This isnt anything I reccomend for a stable setup, I made it just too see how far you could push the limits with old parts I already had.
It is going to be interesting to see how long the setup will last, probably longer then I expect :D
No filter, home made spider antenna. I get hits on 450km daily.

Yes I know the risk of lightning and so on, this is just a fun project, I dont have anything in any of the ends of this install that I cant risk to loose.

Image Image Image Image

station 19882


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommandPost2017, k6rtm and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: