All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 130 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 6:27 pm 
Offline
ShirBlackspots - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:47 pm
Posts: 21
This is my system for site 12460:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/252060731053 $50.34 - 5" Resistive touch LCD HDMI Screen (800x480)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/201332134037 $49.99 - Raspberry Pi 2 Model B
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WZL6WPO/ $44.95 - 1090MHz ADS-B Antenna
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B010GBQXK8/ $29.99 - 1090MHz ADS-B filter
http://www.ebay.com/itm/321781952274 $29.51 - NooElec NESDR Mini 2 USB RTL-SDR ADS-B Receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H9II8Q4/ $19.57 - 15' LMR-400 cable
http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/83-16404 $11.99 - PiFace RTC Clock
http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/33-10915 $9.99 - 38" Antenna mount
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251996480919 $9.49 - High Quality Clear Acrylic Case
http://www.ebay.com/itm/121593721035 $5.56 - 5V, 2A power supply
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CP18R7K/ $5.50 - 12' SMA-F to MCX cable

Image


Last edited by ShirBlackspots on Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:01 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 6:43 pm 
Offline
ShirBlackspots - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:47 pm
Posts: 21
First picture is of the screen and what few aircraft I could pick up with the little antenna the NooElec NESDR Mini 2 USB RTL-SDR ADS-B Receiver came with (sitting inside too, of course).
Second and third picture is with the 1090MHz antenna outside with the 1090MHz filter.

Image
Image
Image


Last edited by ShirBlackspots on Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:57 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:49 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Frazpo - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:51 pm
Posts: 158
Nice setup, Like the touchscreen monitor. Are you feeding adsbexchange.com? You could provide pretty good coverage up through Ok city with that good antenna.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:56 pm 
Offline
ShirBlackspots - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:47 pm
Posts: 21
Frazpo wrote:
Nice setup, Like the touchscreen monitor. Are you feeding adsbexchange.com? You could provide pretty good coverage up through Ok city with that good antenna.


No, just FlightAware. And yeah, I am getting as far as slightly north of Oklahoma City, as far east as Tyler, TX, as far south as Killeen, TX and as far west as almost to Lubbock, TX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 8:02 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Frazpo - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:51 pm
Posts: 158
ShirBlackspots wrote:
Frazpo wrote:
Nice setup, Like the touchscreen monitor. Are you feeding adsbexchange.com? You could provide pretty good coverage up through Ok city with that good antenna.


No, just FlightAware. And yeah, I am getting as far as slightly north of Oklahoma City, as far east as Tyler, TX, as far south as Killeen, TX and as far west as almost to Lubbock, TX


Do you use virtual radar server? If so you should give it a thought. Fun stuff real time VRS for other areas of the country. Easy to do.
ads-b-flight-tracking-f21/co-op-of-feeders-t36113.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 10:41 pm 
Offline
ShirBlackspots - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:47 pm
Posts: 21
Frazpo wrote:
ShirBlackspots wrote:
Frazpo wrote:
Nice setup, Like the touchscreen monitor. Are you feeding adsbexchange.com? You could provide pretty good coverage up through Ok city with that good antenna.


No, just FlightAware. And yeah, I am getting as far as slightly north of Oklahoma City, as far east as Tyler, TX, as far south as Killeen, TX and as far west as almost to Lubbock, TX


Do you use virtual radar server? If so you should give it a thought. Fun stuff real time VRS for other areas of the country. Easy to do.
ads-b-flight-tracking-f21/co-op-of-feeders-t36113.html


No, because doing so would require that I leave my computer on all the time to run that program, which is why I have the Raspberry Pi 2 Model B to feed data to FlightAware. Sure, there is a Linux version of the Virtual Radar program, but I figure feeding to FlightAware is fine enough.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:36 am 
Offline
Me109 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:00 pm
Posts: 48
Main site
  • FA 1090 MHz antenna
  • N-type to SMA pigtail
  • 1090MHz BPF
  • SMA to F-type adapter
  • Diplexer (combines OTA TV w/ADSB)
  • 50' LMR-400-75
  • Diplexer (splits TV and ADSB)
  • F-type to MCX pigtail
  • NooEle Mini2 RTL-dongle
  • RPi2

In fairness, this will be complete next weekend, I just ran the LMR-400 feedline this weekend. Presently it's just the antenna, N-type to SMA pigtail, BPF, SMA to MCX pigtail, and RTL-dongle, which is parked on the entertainment stand behind the TV. I'm actually pretty happy with the performance, so relocating the antenna to the attic will be even better.

Secondary site:
  • Home made 4-legged antenna using a UHF SO-239 bulkhead connector
  • UHF to F-type adapter
  • 2' run RG6
  • F-type to MCX pigtail
  • NoElec Mini RTL-dongle
  • RPiB

The main site is on PiAware 2.1.3 and the secondary on PiAware 2.1.2, both run Dump1090-Mutability 1.15. I aggregate them in VRS running 24/7 on my home server, so I use the iPad or laptop to view the VRS interface.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 3:57 pm 
Offline
ShirBlackspots - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:47 pm
Posts: 21
Wouldn't it be better to just have the antenna outside? Your range will be a lot better outside than if its inside the attic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:31 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
don't underestimate attic antennas :) => site 13195

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:12 pm 
Offline
Me109 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:00 pm
Posts: 48
ShirBlackspots wrote:
Wouldn't it be better to just have the antenna outside? Your range will be a lot better outside than if its inside the attic.


It would, I agree, but I'm content with 150mi range. If I had a gable roof I would, but the hip roof style leaves either a tripod or chimney mount to get the height over the roof peak. As a hobby, it's not worth the aggravation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:53 pm 
Offline
Foxinthehouse1 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:45 pm
Posts: 31
ShirBlackspots wrote:
No, because doing so would require that I leave my computer on all the time to run that program, which is why I have the Raspberry Pi 2 Model B to feed data to FlightAware. Sure, there is a Linux version of the Virtual Radar program, but I figure feeding to FlightAware is fine enough.


You can send data to the Co-Op server without running VRS. My Pi is sending data to them and I still run my own server. Instructions are on his first page.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:37 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1945
Location: Toronto CYYZ
TomMuc wrote:
don't underestimate attic antennas :)

Nor underestimate window antennas :)


Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:01 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
PeterHR - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:02 am
Posts: 700
Location: UK
ShirBlackspots wrote:
Wouldn't it be better to just have the antenna outside? Your range will be a lot better outside than if its inside the attic.


Generally, you'll be better off with an external antenna - but much depends on the material you are taking the signal through - Glass Fibre shingles would absorb less signal than a concrete or clay tile

If you do have a hip roof, you can still erect a mast using T & K brackets - mine is like that 3 * 1.5 sections - so is probably 3.5m above the roof edge ... but you could mount two antenna(s) on the rainwater guttering one each side of the house. If you are able to mount it naked (without a tube over the antenna) it makes it less obvious.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:52 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
heypete - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:03 am
Posts: 51
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Nice! I also like the touchscreen and case. I've been tempted to get a screen like that.

Anyway, so as not to duplicate content, here's a link to the description and photos of my site: it's a FlightAware antenna mounted to a mast on top of a solar observatory tower in the foothills just south of Bern, Switzerland. It's connected using 10m of CO100AF cable to a NooElec NESDR Mini 2 SDR dongle. No filters or amps, though my FA filters should arrive later this month so I'll be able to test if they make a difference. The site gets mobile phone coverage but there's no towers anywhere nearby so I'm not sure if a filter would make a big difference.

I also have two of Saulius's outstanding aluminum cases for the Pi2: one is on a test system at home and the other is going to be installed on the Pi2 at the observatory site to help with cooling. I highly recommend it.

I get good coverage over much of Switzerland, southern/eastern France, southern/western Germany, and Luxembourg.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:36 am 
Offline
atairlines - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 1:58 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Martínez - Buenos Aires - Argentina
This is my "CANtenna" installed in the roof and it's daily coverage data...
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:42 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
supercool - and ingenious recycling idea for the dvd box :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:34 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1945
Location: Toronto CYYZ
atairlines wrote:
This is my "CANtenna" installed in the roof and it's daily coverage data

TomMuc wrote:
supercool - and ingenious recycling idea for the dvd box :)

Yes, it is a good recycling idea.

Here is another recycling idea:post #1444 dated 10th Aug 2014

.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:47 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
:))) you guys rock - turning useless into useful is a great thing!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 10:02 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1945
Location: Toronto CYYZ
atairlines wrote:
This is my "CANtenna" installed in the roof and it's daily coverage data...

The name "Cantenna": Post # 1488 dated 17 Aug 2014

The Birth of Cantenna (name at birth = 1/2 λ sleeve dipole): Post # 1224 dated 8 June 2014

.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:07 pm 
Offline
atairlines - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 1:58 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Martínez - Buenos Aires - Argentina
abcd567 wrote:

Yes!!! I built my "cantenna" based on your posts...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:20 pm 
Offline
atairlines - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 1:58 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Martínez - Buenos Aires - Argentina
TomMuc wrote:
supercool - and ingenious recycling idea for the dvd box :)

TomMuc wrote:
:))) you guys rock - turning useless into useful is a great thing!


Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:20 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sjacket99 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 467
I am running a RPi 2. Was using a PV amp and Directv power inserter, but now I am trying the RCA D903 amp. It's a 20 foot flagpole with a FlightAware antenna mounted on top. This is a older picture, a few weeks ago I moved the antenna about 4 more inches higher. I'm using RG6 Quad shield cable. I have a box at the bottom that is weather proof with the RPi and all inside. I am using a FA filter also.

Image


Last edited by sjacket99 on Thu Jan 21, 2016 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:28 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
haha - that's really a supercool idea as the us flag is one of the nicest looking :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 3:52 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sjacket99 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 467
TomMuc wrote:
haha - that's really a supercool idea as the us flag is one of the nicest looking :)


Works out pretty good. When you live in a HOA area. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:51 pm 
Offline
cecil1829 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:20 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Site 9989

Computer: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B running Raspbian.
Receiver: NooElec NESDR Mini 2
Antenna: Stock antenna

The Raspberry is housed inside a weatherproof sprinkler timer case, which includes two power outlets. Being weatherproof, there is essentially zero ventilation, which makes the case act as an oven. On a hot day without the fans running, the Pi's temperature reaches close to 170F. With the fans, the temperature hovers close to 140. Pretty significant.

Still need to get a better antenna, though. I'll probably end up purchasing the Flightaware antenna.

Image

Image

Image

Web interface


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 130 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deudi, Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: