All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 130 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:41 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2022
Location: Toronto CYYZ
BartJr wrote:
Wow, some very nice and professional looking installations here!

Certainly fancier than my barebones setup of a magmount-on-a-can and wifi-enabled-Pi sitting in the attic. Not pictured: common blue R820T2 dongle.
........2 images snipped......
(week's range from VRS)

How far is the outermost ring?
If it is 250 nautical miles, then with an indoor mag-mount, your maximum range is amazing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:08 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
BartJr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:11 am
Posts: 142
Location: Austin, TX
abcd567 wrote:
How far is the outermost ring?
If it is 250 nautical miles, then with an indoor mag-mount, your maximum range is amazing.


50nm rings, so 250nm for that outer one. Geography helps, I am on the southeast side of a hill as you can probably tell from the plot and southeast Texas is quite flat. Maybe the hill even acts as a crude reflector :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:24 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2022
Location: Toronto CYYZ
v1images wrote:
Relatively new setup, making improvements slowly. Nothing spectacular but range up to 160-190nm.

Image

Image

Working on a cantenna, not feasible for it to be loft or outside based yet.


Cant see images! :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:43 pm 
Offline
v1images - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:00 pm
Posts: 8
abcd567 wrote:
v1images wrote:
Relatively new setup, making improvements slowly. Nothing spectacular but range up to 160-190nm.

Image

Image

Working on a cantenna, not feasible for it to be loft or outside based yet.


Cant see images! :(


Hopefully visible now, apologies :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:48 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2022
Location: Toronto CYYZ
v1images wrote:
abcd567 wrote:
v1images wrote:
Relatively new setup, making improvements slowly. Nothing spectacular but range up to 160-190nm.

Image

Image

Working on a cantenna, not feasible for it to be loft or outside based yet.


Cant see images! :(


Hopefully visible now, apologies :oops:

No, not yet.

May be the image hosting site requires log-in. You are able to see as you are logged in to the image hosting site.

OR

The image hosting site does not permit hotlinking.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:52 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sjacket99 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 467
I got a idea and thought I would change things around a little bit in my setup. I had some 19 inch rack blanks laying around. So I moutned my Pi's to it. From left to right we have the Raspberry Pi B+ (Not being used at the moment), Raspberry Pi 2, Orange Pi PC, and Banana Pro. I am using the Banana Pro for a DLNA server, I have a 500 Gb hard drive hooked up to it. The Raspberry Pi 2 and Orange Pi PC is feeding data to Flight Aware.

Both are using amp's and power inserters. Antenna's are a Flight Aware antenna and a 8-Leg spider ground plane. I still have some cleaning up to do. More pictures to come after I cleaned up the install a little more.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 5:47 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2022
Location: Toronto CYYZ
sjacket99 wrote:
I got a idea and thought I would change things around a little bit in my setup. I had some 19 inch rack blanks laying around. So I moutned my Pi's to it.
....snip......

Wow, professional, elegant & neat!
No comparison to my poorly built setups below:

Image . Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:05 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sjacket99 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 467
abcd567 wrote:
sjacket99 wrote:
I got a idea and thought I would change things around a little bit in my setup. I had some 19 inch rack blanks laying around. So I moutned my Pi's to it.
....snip......

Wow, professional, elegant & neat!
No comparison to my poorly built setups below:

Image . Image


If it work's go with it. Hope the FA antenna is working out for you. I saw on here you was having issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 9:18 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2022
Location: Toronto CYYZ
sjacket99 wrote:
I got a idea and thought I would change things around a little bit in my setup. I had some 19 inch rack blanks laying around. So I moutned my Pi's to it.
....snip......
....images snipped....

abcd567 wrote:
Wow, professional, elegant & neat!
No comparison to my poorly built setups below:
....images snipped....

sjacket99 wrote:
If it work's go with it. Hope the FA antenna is working out for you. I saw on here you was having issues.

It is now working much better than first 2 days after carefully reinstalling adaptor and connectors, but still less than Cantenna.
I am now waiting for Chinese Sail Boat (expected mid March :( :sad: :cry: ) to bring me the N-to-MCX pigtail, so that I can connect the FA Antenna directly to DVB-T dongle without any adaptors or RG6 cable & F connectors.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:05 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
bidgee - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:18 am
Posts: 63
cecil1829 wrote:
Site 9989
Being weatherproof, there is essentially zero ventilation, which makes the case act as an oven. On a hot day without the fans running, the Pi's temperature reaches close to 170F. With the fans, the temperature hovers close to 140. Pretty significant.


Toasty, what was the outside air temp?

Hottest my RPi has gotten is 64.5C (148.1) on a 43.5C (110.3F) day! It lives in a box with the FR24 receiver, no fans and no air openings. Need to find photos for my setup.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:20 pm 
Offline
v1images - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:00 pm
Posts: 8
Hopefully this should work ok now, have 2 set up on opposite sides of the house.

ImageRaspberry Pi ADS-B North Facing Receiver by Jason Nicholls, on Flickr

North Facing:

ImageRasperry Pi ADS-B North Facing Screenshot by Jason Nicholls, on Flickr

ImageRasperry Pi ADS-B North Facing by Jason Nicholls, on Flickr

South Facing

ImageRasperry Pi ADS-B South Facing Screenshot by Jason Nicholls, on Flickr

ImageRasperry Pi ADS-B South Facing by Jason Nicholls, on Flickr

Bog standard antenna for now until a few parts I have ordered arrive to make a cantenna.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:06 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
fatherdoctor - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:53 pm
Posts: 50
Apparently I'm practically a neighbor to @ShirBlackspots.

Flight Aware antenna and filter with 15ft LMR240 in between. Pi in the attic, and dongle in the little outlet box.

Image

Image

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:46 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
BartJr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:11 am
Posts: 142
Location: Austin, TX
Impressive range map, fatherdoctor!

v1images wrote:
Bog standard antenna for now until a few parts I have ordered arrive to make a cantenna.

You might try cutting the stock antenna whip down to 1/4 wavelength. For me that made a noticeable improvement.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:12 am 
Offline
v1images - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:00 pm
Posts: 8
BartJr wrote:
Impressive range map, fatherdoctor!

v1images wrote:
Bog standard antenna for now until a few parts I have ordered arrive to make a cantenna.

You might try cutting the stock antenna whip down to 1/4 wavelength. For me that made a noticeable improvement.


Did make an improvement but now replaced with a Cantenna producing even better results. Now planning on moving the setup outdoors.

ImageCantenna Improvements by Jason Nicholls, on Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:32 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
k5ted - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:07 am
Posts: 188
My "sandbox" rig, sort of non-traditional receiver setup, but it is indeed running PiAware and MLAT, albeit not on a RPi, in a little corner of the K5TED ham shack. Antenna is in a NW facing window.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:06 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
bhaal - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:16 am
Posts: 65
I haven't got a photo of the inside of the enclosure and it's nothing pretty, I will take one in the next day or so when I replace the fan inside the enclosure.. But this is everything that's up on the roof (not all is radar related)
Image

That's a 16 element CoCo made from RG6, not sure what brand, but at the time I was able to get VF for it so the lengths are as accurate as I could get them..
The box with the pipes is the radar Pi enclosure, PWM fan inside, controlled by the Pi and 1-wire temp sensor.. Seems to be working well to stop the temperature from fluctuating so much it affects the clock in the SDR dongle...

The other bits up there are raspberryPi weather cams and wind sensors..

Radar range with FA Pro dongle and FA filter and the 2mtrs or so of RG6 from the Antenna down the pole into the box with filter directly connected and dongle connected straight to the filter (100km range rings):
Image

Trying to find a snapshot before I got the new gear...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:48 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
f1jek - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:11 am
Posts: 131
Image

Image

Image

The coverage is 250nm in the directions where it is possible.

J-Luc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:45 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
actual setup:

Image

Image

click to enlarge:
Image
each ring is 25NM - outlines are theoretical reach <10,000ft, <20,000ft, <30,000ft and <40,000ft - colors are real reach <10,000ft light green, <20,000ft green, <30,000ft purple and >30,000ft red.


Last edited by TomMuc on Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:04 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:37 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
f1jek - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:11 am
Posts: 131
Hi,

Can you add distance circles to the map ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:50 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
f1jek wrote:
Hi,

Can you add distance circles to the map ?
posted above what you were asking for.
cheers
tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 11:39 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
f1jek - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:11 am
Posts: 131
Cool.

We have more or less the same pattern :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:36 am 
Offline
Goldy714 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:16 pm
Posts: 33
G'day all,

Wow. Some great installs being posted here!

Here are a couple of pics of my antenna and range map. There's nothing special about how my Pi sits inside the garage roof so I didn't bother photographing that.

The antenna is set up on my garage and then up as high as I could get it (height is king!) as I'm in a valley and only 25m above sea level. It's a homemade 8 element coco made out of RG6 --> Perfect vision amp --> 10 meters RG6 --> 12VDC power injector for amp --> mini circuits 1090MHz filter --> Nooelec DVB Mini 2+ stick --> powered USB hub --> Rpi 2.

The range rings on the VRS map are at 100km.

Image

Image

Cheers, Goldy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:48 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
bhaal - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:16 am
Posts: 65
Hey Goldy,

Do you have the aggressive switch turned on in dump1090?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:56 am 
Offline
Goldy714 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:16 pm
Posts: 33
Hi bhaal, Not sure what you mean...is that a setting in the .conf file?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:02 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
bhaal - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:16 am
Posts: 65
Goldy714 wrote:
Hi, Not sure what you mean...is that a setting in the .conf file?

Yep

AGGRESSIVE="no" ..

It's recommended to leave it off as it tends to produce more bad than good results, I used to get lots of extreme spikes at impossible altitudes, turning the aggressive decoding off stopped this from happening..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 130 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: