All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:50 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1856
Location: Toronto CYYZ
cecil1829 wrote:
....snip....
Antenna: Stock antenna

.....snip.....

Still need to get a better antenna, though. I'll probably end up purchasing the Flightaware antenna.

.......snip......

Image

.....snip.....

The optimal height for 1090 Mhz antenna is 69 mm. you have fully extended the telescopic stock antenna which makes it way too long for 1090 Mhz. Simply collapse it to minimum. It will probably still be somewhat longer than 69 mm, but will perform far better than when fully extended.

Your setup with equipment inside a weatherproof box is cool!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:59 am 
Offline
Goldy714 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:16 pm
Posts: 32
Hi David (cecil1829),

Nice setup mate. Can I ask how you inserted the distance column into your feed table on your live map page?

Thanks for any help,

Regards,

Goldy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 3:06 pm 
Offline
agidi - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:21 am
Posts: 1
cecil1829 wrote:
Site 9989

Computer: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B running Raspbian.
Receiver: NooElec NESDR Mini 2
Antenna: Stock antenna

The Raspberry is housed inside a weatherproof sprinkler timer case, which includes two power outlets. Being weatherproof, there is essentially zero ventilation, which makes the case act as an oven. On a hot day without the fans running, the Pi's temperature reaches close to 170F. With the fans, the temperature hovers close to 140. Pretty significant.

Still need to get a better antenna, though. I'll probably end up purchasing the Flightaware antenna.

Image

Image

Image

Web interface


Cool setup.
Try not extending the telescopic antena. Check your results. might actually help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:07 pm 
Offline
cecil1829 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:20 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA
abcd567 wrote:
The optimal height for 1090 Mhz antenna is 69 mm. you have fully extended the telescopic stock antenna which makes it way too long for 1090 Mhz. Simply collapse it to minimum. It will probably still be somewhat longer than 69 mm, but will perform far better than when fully extended.

Your setup with equipment inside a weatherproof box is cool!

agidi wrote:
Cool setup.
Try not extending the telescopic antena. Check your results. might actually help.

Image

After collapsing the antenna, there was a significant increase in single track messages. I'm still unsure whether this is a good thing or not. However, the Raspi also received more tracks during the early morning hours, which is nice.


Goldy714 wrote:
Hi David (cecil1829),

Nice setup mate. Can I ask how you inserted the distance column into your feed table on your live map page?

Thanks for any help,

Regards,

Goldy

If I remember correctly, by enabling 'site circles' in dump1090's config.js file, the distance column will automatically appear.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 6:42 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1856
Location: Toronto CYYZ
cecil1829 wrote:
Image

After collapsing the antenna, there was a significant increase in single track messages. I'm still unsure whether this is a good thing or not. However, the Raspi also received more tracks during the early morning hours, which is nice.

How much is the length of antenna after collapsing? Closer it is to 67 mm (1/4 wavelength - 2mm end effect), better it will perform. If you had a solid whip instead of telescopic, I would have recommended you to cut it to 67 mm as shown in drawing below.

Image

.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:22 pm 
Offline
cecil1829 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:20 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA
abcd567 wrote:
How much is the length of antenna after collapsing? Closer it is to 67 mm (1/4 wavelength - 2mm end effect), better it will perform. If you had a solid whip instead of telescopic, I would have recommended you to cut it to 67 mm as shown in drawing below.

Image

.


Collapsed it measures around 70mm. Also, it's the telescopic variety. Luckily I have some spare RG6 coax cable lying around, so I'll probably make a cantenna.

The vent the current whip is attached too acts as a ground plane, so I get somewhat improved reception.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:52 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1856
Location: Toronto CYYZ
abcd567 wrote:
How much is the length of antenna after collapsing? Closer it is to 67 mm (1/4 wavelength - 2mm end effect), better it will perform. If you had a solid whip instead of telescopic, I would have recommended you to cut it to 67 mm as shown in drawing below.
.....image snipped .......
.

cecil1829 wrote:
Collapsed it measures around 70mm. Also, it's the telescopic variety. Luckily I have some spare RG6 coax cable lying around, so I'll probably make a cantenna.

70 mm is nearly perfect, provided this length includes the length of fixed nickle plated metallic part just above the base (the part with a screw to pivot the telescopic part). Please see photo below.

Image


cecil1829 wrote:
The vent the current whip is attached too acts as a ground plane, so I get somewhat improved reception.

Yes, when I saw your 1st post, I have noticed the large metallic top of vent on which you have placed your telescopic antenna. That is why I never mentioned anything about providing a groundplane.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:34 pm 
Offline
agleave - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:17 am
Posts: 6
Hi, here are my details/pictures of my setup:
RPi2
RTL2832U R820T2 Dongle
MXC to SMA pigtail
2M RG58 Coax cable (SMA Male to N Type Male
J-Pole Antenna for 1090MHz
Wi-Fi Dongle on USB Extention Cable

Currently looking at adding the FA filter on there as well. Unfortunately I am unable to mount the antenna outside, so it is currently mounted in the loft. I changed from a desktop antenna a couple of days ago (mounted in the same location) to the J-Pole antenna and saw a clear jump in my stats.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:49 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
congrats - brillant space-saving mounting - happy to see someone else with an attic antenna :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:06 pm 
Offline
agleave - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:17 am
Posts: 6
Hi TomMuc, quick question about your setup, I notice in the photo you had 2 setups next to each other, do you have different setups on them or are they as a backup or something?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:24 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
hi agleave,

no - they were not meant as a backup - i was just testing some different antennas and places in the attic.
at the moment i run two of them - one is my 'real site' and with the other i test different software setups etc.

as i don't want to mess up this thread with already in other places posted pix - here are some links:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/adsb_office.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/antenna_03.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/antenna_05.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/antenna_one2one_2.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/antenna_one2one.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/antenna_test_01.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39745369/raspi_adsb_01.jpg

tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:34 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1856
Location: Toronto CYYZ
@TomMuc
Excellent! All your setups are very neat .
The tripod mounting are elegant, but the mounting I like best is the "rote Rose" box :).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:48 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
abcd567 wrote:
@TomMuc
Excellent! All your setups are very neat .
The tripod mounting are elegant, but the mounting I like best is the "rote Rose" box :).
hahaha - this is of course your 67mm standard antenna optimization with can - but with tiny variation from my wife :)))


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 8:28 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
blueskyspotter - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:51 am
Posts: 72
TomMuc wrote:
don't underestimate attic antennas :) => site 13195

Image



Really! those are expensive tripods. manfrotto?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 8:35 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
blueskyspotter wrote:
Really! those are expensive tripods. manfrotto?
yep - these were some of my smaller manfrotto tripods laying around. but now after all the testing - i replaced them with really great and cheap music-box stands: http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B00CJ9YE7A?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:46 pm 
Offline
cecil1829 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:20 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Bumping to see other PiAware setups.

Ended up purchasing the FlightAware antenna, and man, what a difference!

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:01 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
TomMuc - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:51 am
Posts: 534
Location: Munich, Germany
haha - very cool :) i remember the first time when i replaced my dongle-mini-antenna with a 'real' ads-b antenna - that's amazing. nearly the same wow-effect i had some month later - when first time added an amplifier ...

congrats
tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:43 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sjacket99 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 467
I think I posted this before. But here is my little setup I got going. I have a Raspberry Pi B+, Raspberry Pi 2, and a Orange Pi PC.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:31 pm 
Offline
cecil1829 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:20 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Image

Bumping to see any other neat setups.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:35 am 
Offline
esdf15 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:44 am
Posts: 2
This is my IP67-ish project for an outdoor remote location. Feed with 12V PoE downconverted to 5V for the Rpi. A DHT22 temp/humidity sensor to keep track of humidity inside the box. An anti-condensation valve to keep moisture out of the box.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:38 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sesom - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:18 am
Posts: 62
Location: EDDN/NUE
esdf15 wrote:
An anti-condensation valve to keep moisture out of the box.

Nice setup. Were did you get that valve?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:09 am 
Offline
esdf15 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:44 am
Posts: 2
sesom wrote:
esdf15 wrote:
An anti-condensation valve to keep moisture out of the box.

Nice setup. Were did you get that valve?


I got it through a local electrical installation supplier (in Sweden). But i have seen them online also. Google for "Pressure equalisation element". At the time of the build i found some on eBay but i cant seem to find them today.

Edit: This is an example of what it does

Image
Source: http://www.rapotec.de/e_druckausgleich.php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:28 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sesom - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:18 am
Posts: 62
Location: EDDN/NUE
Thanks, found some different models by searching for Druckausgleichselement on eBay Germany.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:07 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
BartJr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:11 am
Posts: 142
Location: Austin, TX
Wow, some very nice and professional looking installations here!

Certainly fancier than my barebones setup of a magmount-on-a-can and wifi-enabled-Pi sitting in the attic. Not pictured: common blue R820T2 dongle.

Image Image
(week's range from VRS)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post your PiAware setup
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:31 pm 
Offline
v1images - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:00 pm
Posts: 8
Relatively new setup, making improvements slowly. Nothing spectacular but range up to 160-190nm.

Image

Image

Working on a cantenna, not feasible for it to be loft or outside based yet.


Last edited by v1images on Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: agretch, Google [Bot], jluebbe and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: