All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:06 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
obj wrote:
2.1 -> 3.1 remote upgrade does not touch your networking stuff at all (it upgrades only the core piaware package), so you have some other problem there.

93% CPU on a Pi 2 means there's something else wrong there too.


I suspect that 93% CPU message was generated when I was trying something to get out of this mess. Anyway, what I selected was the upgrade everything option. That was probably what I shouldn't have done. I'm going to retrieve the device now and attempt an SD upgrade. This is exactly what I was trying to avoid.

Anyway, obviously something messed with the networking. This device has been running nonstop without an issue for months, until I tried this. Now I can't even ping it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:37 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
"Upgrade everything" does a dist-upgrade (or an upgrade, I forget) of everything, which is a real lottery if you don't have reliable remote access. The upgrade instructions specifically say to use the "Upgrade and restart PiAware" option, which does only PiAware.

If the upgrade-everything option broke something, it is likely to be a problem with the Raspbian upgrade rather than anything specific to PiAware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:17 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
obj wrote:
"Upgrade everything" does a dist-upgrade (or an upgrade, I forget) of everything, which is a real lottery if you don't have reliable remote access. The upgrade instructions specifically say to use the "Upgrade and restart PiAware" option, which does only PiAware.

If the upgrade-everything option broke something, it is likely to be a problem with the Raspbian upgrade rather than anything specific to PiAware.


Yeah, I realized that after I did that. Why the heck do you make is so easy to select that option if it has such consequences. It's the first option, by the way. Now I have to figure out how to do a fresh install and somehow get wifi to work. I got the SD image built, and I can ping through a wired connection but cannot telnet to it (probably a router issue). I'll probably wait until this weekend to do this.

P.S. I checked, and it is feeding right now, so it looks like all I need to do is figure out how to enable wifi.

Wifi is working after I edited the config file on the SD. I can't ssh into it still. I thought it was because of the ssh keys I had created for passwordless access. However, I can't ssh to it even like so:

ssh -o PreferredAuthentications=password -o PubkeyAuthentication=no pi@ipOfMyRP

That should force a password authentication even if I have an ssh key, right? And pi is the default user, right? It works with my rp3 but not for my rp2 for some reason. I don't find any router settings that should mess with ssh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:20 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
Quote:
Yeah, I realized that after I did that. Why the heck do you make is so easy to select that option if it has such consequences. It's the first option, by the way.

It might make sense to remove that option (or at least make it harder to get at) to protect people from themselves, I guess. All that stuff predates my work on piaware. It should be fine on a current sdcard image, but as soon as you start making modifications .. well, then it's your baby.

Quote:
ssh -o PreferredAuthentications=password -o PubkeyAuthentication=no pi@ipOfMyRP

That should force a password authentication even if I have an ssh key, right? And pi is the default user, right? It works with my rp3 but not for my rp2 for some reason. I don't find any router settings that should mess with ssh.

ssh negotiates possible authentications anyway, each possible method that both the server and client have enabled is tried in turn.
What "doesn't work"? Run it with -v.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:51 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
I scrounged a monitor that I had used with my DSLR for movie making, found a USB keyboard (wasn't sure I even had one), and a mouse with a USB dongle and got connected to the RPi with a display. It annoyingly booted up to a graphical interface where I couldn't do anything without a keyboard. Anyway, I got to a command prompt and typed in raspi-config, expanded the filing system and enabled ssh (I thought it was enabled by default). That didn't help, but maybe I need to reboot first. Anyway, here's a log.

Victors-MBP:Volumes vse$ ssh -v -o PreferredAuthentications=password -o PubkeyAuthentication=no pi@myLocalIP
OpenSSH_6.2p2, OSSLShim 0.9.8r 8 Dec 2011
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh_config
debug1: /etc/ssh_config line 20: Applying options for *
debug1: /etc/ssh_config line 102: Applying options for *
debug1: Connecting to myLocalIP [myLocalIP] port 22.
debug1: Connection established.
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa type 1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa-cert type -1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_dsa type -1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_dsa-cert type -1
debug1: Enabling compatibility mode for protocol 2.0
debug1: Local version string SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_6.2
debug1: Remote protocol version 2.0, remote software version OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u3
debug1: match: OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u3 pat OpenSSH*
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT sent
Read from socket failed: Connection reset by peer

If I do it the plain way:
Victors-MBP:Volumes vse$ ssh -v pi@myLocalIP
OpenSSH_6.2p2, OSSLShim 0.9.8r 8 Dec 2011
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh_config
debug1: /etc/ssh_config line 20: Applying options for *
debug1: /etc/ssh_config line 102: Applying options for *
debug1: Connecting to myLocalIP [myLocalIP] port 22.
debug1: Connection established.
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa type 1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa-cert type -1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_dsa type -1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_dsa-cert type -1
debug1: Enabling compatibility mode for protocol 2.0
debug1: Local version string SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_6.2
debug1: Remote protocol version 2.0, remote software version OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u3
debug1: match: OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u3 pat OpenSSH*
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT sent
Read from socket failed: Connection reset by peer

I checked my known hosts file, and it doesn't have an entry for this IP. It does have an entry for the one where I set up ssh keys.

Not sure why I'm obfuscating local IP numbers - they wouldn't do miscreants much good anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:57 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
... and from my other one, which works:

ssh -v pi@otherLocalIP
OpenSSH_6.2p2, OSSLShim 0.9.8r 8 Dec 2011
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh_config
debug1: /etc/ssh_config line 20: Applying options for *
debug1: /etc/ssh_config line 102: Applying options for *
debug1: Connecting to otherLocalIP [otherLocalIP] port 22.
debug1: Connection established.
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa type 1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa-cert type -1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_dsa type -1
debug1: identity file /Users/vse/.ssh/id_dsa-cert type -1
debug1: Enabling compatibility mode for protocol 2.0
debug1: Local version string SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_6.2
debug1: Remote protocol version 2.0, remote software version OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u3
debug1: match: OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u3 pat OpenSSH*
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT sent
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT received
debug1: kex: server->client aes128-ctr hmac-sha1-etm@openssh.com none
debug1: kex: client->server aes128-ctr hmac-sha1-etm@openssh.com none
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_REQUEST(1024<2048<8192) sent
debug1: expecting SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_GROUP
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_INIT sent
debug1: expecting SSH2_MSG_KEX_DH_GEX_REPLY
debug1: Server host key: RSA ca:c9:87:ee:2c:b2:17:52:e9:cf:89:a1:f7:53:13:87
debug1: Host 'otherLocalIP' is known and matches the RSA host key.
debug1: Found key in /Users/vse/.ssh/known_hosts:3
debug1: ssh_rsa_verify: signature correct
debug1: SSH2_MSG_NEWKEYS sent
debug1: expecting SSH2_MSG_NEWKEYS
debug1: SSH2_MSG_NEWKEYS received
debug1: SSH2_MSG_SERVICE_REQUEST sent
debug1: SSH2_MSG_SERVICE_ACCEPT received
debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey,password
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Offering RSA public key: /Users/vse/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Server accepts key: pkalg ssh-rsa blen 279
debug1: read PEM private key done: type RSA
debug1: Authentication succeeded (publickey).
Authenticated to otherLocalIP ([otherLocalIP]:22).
debug1: channel 0: new [client-session]
debug1: Requesting no-more-sessions@openssh.com
debug1: Entering interactive session.
debug1: Sending environment.
debug1: Sending env LANG = en_US.UTF-8

The programs included with the Debian GNU/Linux system are free software;
the exact distribution terms for each program are described in the
individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright.

Debian GNU/Linux comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent
permitted by applicable law.
Last login: Fri Oct 21 01:39:35 2016 from router.asus.com

NB: this last note is because I have just finished setting up port forwarding to allow me to ssh in remotely outside of my internal network using the ssh -p argument. I am not port forwarding or doing anything with port 22, so that shouldn't affect plain vanilla ssh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:13 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
The auth.log file on the RPi contains a lot of entries like Could no load host key: /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key
key_load_public: invalid format

and so forth. I just test this with the -o option listed above, and that triggered these errors to repeat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:17 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
Yeah, something is hosed on the Pi there. What's the install?

If it's a PiAware 3 sdcard image, you should be able to just delete the host keys from /etc/ssh/ and new ones will get regenerated (your ssh clients will yell at you about the host keys having changed). I haven't seen this failure mode before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:30 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
The keys located at /etc/ssh/ had zero bytes.

I got it to work by following the instructions here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 91&t=11935

More specifically, I did this:

sudo ssh-keygen -t 'dsa'

When it asks where to save it, I typed:

/etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key (default is something else) It prompted me to overwrite.

Repeat for rsa.

sudo service ssh restart


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:36 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
obj wrote:
Yeah, something is hosed on the Pi there. What's the install?

If it's a PiAware 3 sdcard image, you should be able to just delete the host keys from /etc/ssh/ and new ones will get regenerated (your ssh clients will yell at you about the host keys having changed). I haven't seen this failure mode before.


This was the SD image install piaware-sd-card-3.1.0.img

Perhaps relevantly, when I ran the image burning program the little gear icon was animating on the top. When I clicked on it, it said 80% almost the entire time, until right at the end, where I got an error. So I tried it again, using a different card reader and got the same problem. I figured maybe it was erroring out because it couldn't unmount because I was accessing the volume in finder, so I went ahead and used it. I don't think that process generates the keys, though. That would have to be done during boot, it seems to me. Something must have failed during boot. Anyway, it appears to have been a repeated problem. Note in the link I gave earlier, others are reporting the very same symptoms.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:40 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
I would try a different sdcard, it sounds like that one is going bad.

And/or try using http://etcher.io to write the image, it is pretty slick and includes a verify step.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 7:32 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
I made some changes to the commands available in the stats page interface to make it harder to accidentally do anything potentially destructive, should be live in a few days.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:52 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
obj wrote:
I would try a different sdcard, it sounds like that one is going bad.

And/or try using http://etcher.io to write the image, it is pretty slick and includes a verify step.


Hmmm - everything's working fine now, so I'll just leave things alone, until the next time I need to take it down from the attic for whatever reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:59 am 
Offline
jaymesellars - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 4:00 am
Posts: 1
As my Pi is rather inaccessible, I Upgraded via the Command on the Stats page (Upgrade Piaware and Restart), everything went smoothly.
I did have to restart the Pi manually again after it rebooted to get my MLAT Results LAN Connection back to VRS but everything looks good according to the log on the stats page, no loss of data from the Mutability DUMP1090 built either, so I wont be upgrading DUMP1090...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:15 am 
Offline
ehud42 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:06 am
Posts: 20
Boeings wrote:
I had manual updates disabled, so used this command

piaware-config -manualUpdate 1

Then needed to reboot.


Thanks Boeings! A couple minor tweaks to make this painfully clear for others.

This command enables the "Send Command" option on your ADS-B Flight Aware page. I needed to be run as root on my Pi (and then reboot).

Code:
sudo piaware-config -manualUpdate 1
sudo shutdown -r now


Then I was able to issue the update and restart PiAware command from the FlightAware ADS-B page.

Now the nag screen is gone, and
Code:
sudo piaware -v

shows 3.1.

My stats are fine & my mutability is still running.

Quite painless.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:01 pm 
Offline
cpetras - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:20 am
Posts: 1
So I did the command upgrade from 2 to 3. The log window is showing this. Should I be concerned?

[2016-10-25 11:51 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:51 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:52 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:52 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:53 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:53 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:54 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:54 PDT] 394 msgs recv'd from dump1090 (336 in last 5m); 394 msgs sent to FlightAware
[2016-10-25 11:54 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:55 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:58 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
cpetras wrote:
So I did the command upgrade from 2 to 3. The log window is showing this. Should I be concerned?

[2016-10-25 11:51 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:51 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:52 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:52 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:53 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:53 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:54 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused
[2016-10-25 11:54 PDT] 394 msgs recv'd from dump1090 (336 in last 5m); 394 msgs sent to FlightAware
[2016-10-25 11:54 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with ::1:30104: [Errno 97] Address family not supported by protocol
[2016-10-25 11:55 PDT] mlat-client(1273): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: [Errno 111] Connection refused

You're running a dump1090 that doesn't understand mlat results. It won't cause any problems other that you won't be able to see mlat results on your local map. If you also upgrade dump1090 it should be fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:13 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jlb56 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:13 pm
Posts: 120
ehud42 wrote:
Boeings wrote:
I had manual updates disabled, so used this command

piaware-config -manualUpdate 1

Then needed to reboot.


Thanks Boeings! A couple minor tweaks to make this painfully clear for others.

This command enables the "Send Command" option on your ADS-B Flight Aware page. I needed to be run as root on my Pi (and then reboot).

Code:
sudo piaware-config -manualUpdate 1
sudo shutdown -r now


Then I was able to issue the update and restart PiAware command from the FlightAware ADS-B page.

Now the nag screen is gone, and
Code:
sudo piaware -v

shows 3.1.

My stats are fine & my mutability is still running.

Quite painless.


Hi all,

NOBO question. I often see people referring to their stats, how do you view such stats??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:43 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
andrew6721 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 5:06 am
Posts: 69
Location: Sydney, Australia
Upgraded (by the remote command, even though the Pi is 1 foot away :D ) from 2.1.5 to 3.1.0 just now, so far so good.

Did the mandatory SD card image backup before hand in case it all went pear shaped.

Seems to be working fine apart from This feeder is not being used for multilateration because its timing information appears to be unreliable but thats normal for a while after a reboot until NTP gets it stuff together (it NTPs from my stratum 1 NTP Pi sitting beside it).

FWIW, its a Pi2 running 1090-mut 1.15dev feeding both FA and FR24 (plus Lightppd for my own local use)

Will be keeping an eye on the stats for CPU usage etc to see if there is any startling differences.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:52 pm 
Offline
spotterssol - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 7:51 am
Posts: 8
Hi,

I have a remote station running dump1090, feeding BEAST to piaware at home. The MLAT is then feeded to modesmixer on the same system, mixing adbs+mlat data for local view.
This setup was working, but recently I've upgraded piaware (debian package) from version 2 to 3, as required. Now I'm not getting MLAT plots anymore.

Everything still looks absolutely ok:

-FA's user page says ok and connected:
Quote:
Feeder Type: PiAware (Debian Package Add-on) 3.1.0
Multilateration (MLAT): Supported / Enabled (synchronized with 28 nearby receivers)


-piaware's log says ok and connected:
Quote:
Oct 28 22:01:03 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Beast-format results connection with 127.0.0.1:30104: connection established
Oct 28 22:04:25 ednas piaware[5204]: 22960 msgs recv'd from the ADS-B data program at ***/8080 (243 in last 5m); 22960 msgs sent to FlightAware
Oct 28 22:09:25 ednas piaware[5204]: 23138 msgs recv'd from the ADS-B data program at ***/8080 (178 in last 5m); 23138 msgs sent to FlightAware
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Receiver status: connected
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Receiver status: connected
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Server status: synchronized with 17 nearby receivers
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Receiver: 37.7 msg/s received 27.2 msg/s processed (72%)
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Server: 0.1 kB/s from server 0.0kB/s TCP to server 0.4kB/s UDP to server
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Results: 63.6 positions/minute
Oct 28 22:14:10 ednas piaware[5204]: mlat-client(5257): Aircraft: 2 of 4 Mode S, 7 of 8 ADS-B used


-modesmixer's log says ok and connected:
Quote:
2016-10-28 22:01:03.332 INFO inServer(30104) 127.0.0.1:50980 connected
2016-10-28 22:01:05.353 INFO inServer(30104) 127.0.0.1:50980 BEAST data stream detected


-here's some raw data from mlat client and modesmixer taken with tcpdump:
Quote:
1a33ff004d4c41540092e488ad90ad11f01c586e364db11a33ff004d4c41540092e488ad90ad162c1c97fca9c8481a33ff004d4c41540092e488ad99009e2d38440062e953
1a33ff004d4c41540092e48e3890abb14590079cf07fc91a33ff004d4c41540092e48e3890abb5846848a367370e1a33ff004d4c41540092e48e389900f02eb020007871a6
1a33ff004d4c41540092e48a0990b982282de2b7c6f4281a33ff004d4c41540092e48a0990b986633e233dae39111a33ff004d4c41540092e48a09990503ac500400eb9513
1a33ff004d4c41540092e484d690b9b082828d334ad8a41a33ff004d4c41540092e484d690b9b4c49acbcbaf536f1a33ff004d4c41540092e484d699051f95500c0059e614
1a33ff004d4c41540092e488ad90abf1f0fc58a0f0adb81a33ff004d4c41540092e488ad90abf62cf8982dfd75551a33ff004d4c41540092e488ad99009f2d584400ae67e6
1a33ff004d4c41540092e48a0990b98227a1e286f83ac01a33ff004d4c41540092e48a0990b98662b4230d1beb0d1a33ff004d4c41540092e48a09990502ac500400e89fdd


Am I missing something? Is modesmixer compatible with piaware anymore? :(
ps: sorry my English!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 8:56 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
I think modesmixer may have trouble with TIS-B data (mlat results are sent using the TIS-B formats).
I can't provide any support for modesmixer, though, because it's closed source; you'll need to contact the author for support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:04 am 
Offline
spotterssol - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 7:51 am
Posts: 8
deleted. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:21 am 
Offline
tim79w - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 7:26 am
Posts: 2
I carried out the upgrade my Pi using the ADSB status page. ever since then the piaware has not worked at all.
Can anyone give me some ideas on were to start?
This Piaware has been running perfectly for the last few years with no problems, it only goes down when my internet drops out.
The Pi still connects to the WiFi, when I check the piaware-atatus -showall I get the following

PiAware master process (piaware) is not running.
PiAware ADS-B client (faup1090) in not running.
PiAware meat client (fa-mlat-client) is not running.
Local ADS-B receiver (dump1090) is running with pid 2030.

dump1090 (pid 2030) is listening for connections on port 30005.
faup1090 is NOT connected to the ADS-B receiver.
piaware is NOT connected to FlightAware.

dump1090 is producing data on local host:30005.

any help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:54 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
What image did you start from?
What modifications have you made to it?

If you don't have data you need to preserve, the simplest fix to most problems is to start from a new sdcard image.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:04 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
I looked at the logs (back on the 6th when you last checked in) and you requested an "upgrade everything" upgrade, which unfortunately will not reliably upgrade to PiAware 3 (see the original post in this thread; that option is disabled entirely now, but wasn't when you tried it).

It should be possible to recover the existing image but I don't know what state it is in so you'd have to investigate exactly what got upgraded and what broke. In particular PiAware 3 will not have been installed, so it's probably that the OS upgrade broke the old PiAware install somehow. If you don't have some Linux background I suggest starting again from a fresh image.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: claudep, Ljungskile, MrCaLi, myalias, Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: