All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 8:26 am 
Offline
joharazad - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:35 am
Posts: 1
Quote:
abcd567 wrote:
thehowieee wrote:
abcd567 wrote:
I never go for an OS upgrade. Instead I format microSD Card and burn the latest upgraded image...no headaches, no dbugging, and a perfect and clean upgrade.


but when a receiver is 1000 miles away ... in-place is all you've got!

In this case upgrading by upgrade command is the only practical solution.

i dint see a SD card in my case i opened the box but i dint see any SD card
How do i upgrade my receiver ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 9:18 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3203
joharazad wrote:
i dint see a SD card in my case i opened the box but i dint see any SD card
How do i upgrade my receiver ?

You have a FlightFeeder. The PiAware upgrade instructions don't apply to FlightFeeders; please don't try to use a PiAware image on a FlightFeeder. If you contact support at adsbsupport@flightaware.com they can help you with the upgrade.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:54 pm 
Offline
grsham - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 6
I have two PIaware boxes in two locations. A week or so ago I installed the PI-3 package (overwriting the PI-2 SD card image. The upgrade was uncomplicated. Reconnected to FA within an hour.

Tonight I performed the same procedure on the second one. MyADS-B has not reconnected to the box. I can access the dump1090 at port 8080 and can connect via ssh. Everything appears to be fine - except there is no connection to Flight-Aware, going on 4 hours of frustration. I've re-imaged twice and verified the mac reported to be what FA says it was before the upgrade.

I've also been to the 'claim and link" page. Flight-Aware cannot find a new one and the 'old' one is still shown as station 2 in the list of linked receivers to my account.

One upgrade was flawless and the second one appears to be doomed. It looks like I will lose my 572 day streak and may not even be able to start a new run with this box.

Any ideas of what I can do to get back online?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:59 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3203
What does /var/log/piaware.log say?
What does piaware-status say?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:02 pm 
Offline
grsham - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 6
las several entries:

Sep 23 13:31:58 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connection to adept server at piaware.flightaware.com/1200 failed: couldn't open socket: Name or service not known
Sep 23 13:31:58 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: reconnecting in 50 seconds...
Sep 23 13:32:48 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connecting to FlightAware adept server at 70.42.6.197/1200
Sep 23 13:32:51 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connection to adept server at 70.42.6.197/1200 failed: host is unreachable
Sep 23 13:32:51 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: reconnecting in 49 seconds...
Sep 23 13:33:40 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connecting to FlightAware adept server at 70.42.6.198/1200
Sep 23 13:33:43 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connection to adept server at 70.42.6.198/1200 failed: host is unreachable
Sep 23 13:33:43 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: reconnecting in 67 seconds...
Sep 23 13:34:50 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connecting to FlightAware adept server at 70.42.6.191/1200
Sep 23 13:34:53 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: Connection to adept server at 70.42.6.191/1200 failed: host is unreachable
Sep 23 13:34:53 LenoirCity-Welcome piaware[439]: reconnecting in 57 seconds...
pi@LenoirCity-Welcome:/var/log$


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:10 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3203
You have a network problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:12 pm 
Offline
grsham - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 6
My piaware has a network problem, apparently. Didn't have one before the upgrade. No other device within the network has a problem getting out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:23 pm 
Offline
grsham - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 6
THANKS for the dialog. Based on your queries and the contents of the log, I tried to ping a physical ip with no success. Went back into the piaware-config.txt and saw the default gateway was not pointing to my address. I'd set the static ip to the correct address but overlooked the one default (wired-gateway) that was not matched to my system. Changed that and rebooted, Now reconnected and all appears to be well.

pi@LenoirCity-Welcome:/boot$ piaware-status
PiAware master process (piaware) is running with pid 441.
PiAware ADS-B client (faup1090) is running with pid 700.
PiAware mlat client (fa-mlat-client) is running with pid 684.
Local ADS-B receiver (dump1090-fa) is running with pid 689.

dump1090-fa (pid 689) is listening for connections on port 30005.
faup1090 is connected to the ADS-B receiver.
piaware is connected to FlightAware.

dump1090 is producing data on localhost:30005.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:25 pm 
Offline
grsham - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 6
Thanks again for the prompt responses and for asking all the right questions, Have a good night.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:29 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
joelwiley - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:46 pm
Posts: 826
grsham wrote:
Went back into the piaware-config.txt and saw the default gateway was not pointing to my address. I'd set the static ip to the correct address but overlooked the one default (wired-gateway) that was not matched to my system. Changed that and rebooted, Now reconnected and all appears to be well.
It's usually some small pesky detail one overlooks. A second set of eyes or poster can be invaluable.
We have all been there, done that (or will soon), got the t-shirt stained. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:12 pm 
Offline
nick0909 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:56 am
Posts: 2
Was anyone successful in changing the website back to port 8080? I already have another project that I used to run on the same pi that uses port 80, I really wish piaware didn't change itself to take over 80, at least not without providing it as an option. I tried to change it in the lighthttpd config and then nothing seemed to work right after, on either port.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PiAware version 2 to version 3 upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:25 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3203
dump1090-fa doesn't take over port 80; it splices itself into the existing lighttpd config to provide URLs under /dump1090-fa/ only and doesn't touch anything else you are serving at other URLs.

piaware itself does nothing at all to do with port 80.

The piaware sdcard image sets up a landing/status page at the top level, but the sdcard image is not aimed at sharing the Pi with other applications (you want a package install for that)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BartJr, jcrtp, NewPort01 and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: