piaware NooElect dongle RX performance

Built up a Raspberry Pi B+ with the NooElect USB dongle and included antenna. Was working pretty good from home even with just the USB dongle included antenna in my home office.

Today moved the whole setup to a mountain top site - its connected to the Internet OK and it looks like maybe a couple of ADS-B reports have been received by FlightAware … but clearly there’s an issue with receive performance.

What I suspect may be happening is RF interference to the USB dongle - we’ve got TV, FM and other transmitters here. (Because of the recent snow and ice I wasn’t able to get the external antenna installed - that will have to wait for some future date). The indoor location here on the mountain top is in a wooden structure not much different than the home environment (which is why I expected much better coverage even with the indoor antenna).

As I have no previous experience with DUMP1090 or the hardware I’m looking for tips / pointers on ways to troubleshoot this. I’m a bit concerned that once setup with the external antenna I still may not see decent reception. With the location being quite a few hundred feet HAAT and in the clear I was hoping for good results. (Location N42 05 02 W72 42 15)

And a related question: is it normal for the DUMP1090 map from the built-in web server to centre on Milan Italy when there are no received / decoded ADS-B messages?

Bob W1QA

How is your antenna setup now vs before? Is it in a window at least?

Yes, I’ve seen it center on Europe when it’s not picking up any traffic.

At home near a window didn’t work too well - a combination of having screens and window glaze cause for a lot of attenuation. Worked best just with the magnetic base on an adjustable work lamp at my desk!

At the mountain top site near the ceiling of a room - close to an old window (no glazing).