New Raspberry Pi? Change the default password! Please!

If you’re running Raspbian or one of the standard Raspberry Pi Linux distros, the default account is pi with a password of raspberry.

Besides running PiAware, I also run a SSH honeypot on one of my Raspberry Pi systems. This honeypot tracks attackers looking to take over Internet-connected systems.

And just about every SSH login attack that my honeypot records has [pi/raspberry] as one of the combinations tried.

Please change the default password on your Pi system!

Bob K6RTM

Good advice Bob! I just changed mine now.

Honeypot? that takes me back to the last millennium :slight_smile: Got to look into setting on up at home here. Nothing should be getting in, but it’s a good way to verify. Thanx

The Raspberry Pi makes a great honeypot – take a look at Kippo, a nice open-source SSH honeypot. I’ve been running one for almost two years.

It records someone trying [pi/raspberry] at least once a day.

k6rtm:

Do you have the honeypot behind the router or straight into the cable modem?

I would think that unless you had the honeypot on an open port the router would block incoming unrequested traffic.

The Pi running the Kippo honeypot is behind the router, with a router port forwarding rule mapping incoming TCP port 22 traffic to port 2222 of the honeypot Pi – the Kippo honeypot listens on port 2222. Another router forwarding rule maps incoming TCP port 443 traffic to another honeypot.

(any more questions, just ask!)

–Bob K6RTM

Bob:

Thanks for the answer (and the offer to ask more questions).

I think I am missing something… If the goal is to keep bad guys out, why not just close port 22? I know that port 22 is the SS common entry, but why open it just to monitor attacks? If it is open them you will certainly log attacks. If it is closed, the routed should bounce the attacks off.