All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HOW TO ENABLE MLAT on WINDOWS 10?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:14 am 
Offline
raghav1011 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:26 am
Posts: 12
Sorry if i am wrong here ,as totally newbie to this system
I received my ADS-B receiver and its running quiet good from past some days :)

I am currently using windows 10


And as i see on my stats page
no MLAT data or nothing related to it

question is -
1.What all should i do to improve range and the response to FLIGHTAWARE ?
2.It shows MLAT enable, but no MLAT data? (please explain)



I am very sorry, many of you must be finding this topic as very DUMB :P
but trust me guys, i am totally new to this
but i am doing good with feeding for FA :)


Quote:
Thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO ENABLE MLAT on WINDOWS 10?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:35 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3469
You have a Flightfeeder loaned by FlightAware; this runs its own software for feeding data, independent of your PC.

You don't need to do anything special to enable multilateration. It will happen when possible. Currently there are not enough other receiver sites nearby (mlat requires a group of at least 4 receivers)

The single biggest thing you can do to improve the reception of a FlightFeeder is to make sure the antenna is mounted high with a clear view of the sky in all directions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO ENABLE MLAT on WINDOWS 10?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:53 am 
Offline
raghav1011 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:26 am
Posts: 12
My friend is feeding for Planefinder, can he join flightaware with planefinder's ads-b?
He is in same city and nearby airport too!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HOW TO ENABLE MLAT on WINDOWS 10?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:26 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3469
If your friend has planefinder-provided hardware and it is capable of producing Beast-format output then you can feed via PiAware on a separate Pi: https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/install


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EmilK, Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: