All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How PiAware feeders are identified (updated 2017/07/16)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:42 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
(Updated 2017/07/16 - now applies to all sites)

PiAware feeders are now being identified by a unique feeder ID stored by PiAware, rather than by hardware MAC addresses.

A feeder ID will be assigned when the feeder first connects, and will be stored by PiAware on the sdcard. Subsequent connections will use that feeder ID to identify the site. The main consequence of this is that if you re-image the sdcard or otherwise remove the feeder ID, then subsequently the feeder will look like a brand new feeder and will create a new site.

If you want to retain the same feeder-to-site association when re-imaging, so that the existing site continues to be used, then you can explicitly configure the feeder ID to use. This is a somewhat manual process at the moment:

  • Find the feeder ID that you want to use. You can find this either as the "Site identifier" on the site page at https://flightaware.com/adsb/stats/user/yourusername, or from the PiAware logs in /var/log/piaware.log on your existing install. The identifier looks like a series of dash-separated hex digits: 12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789abc.
  • Configure the feeder ID on the new system: piaware-config feeder-id 12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789abc
  • Restart piaware: sudo systemctl restart piaware

This also works when replacing hardware (if it is just a Pi replacement, you can just move the existing sdcard over and the feeder ID will be retained)

This now applied to all sites, including sites created before feeder IDs were introduced. Those sites have had a feeder ID assigned retrospectively.

If you are running an older version of PiAware then the description above is not entirely correct (as older versions can't store a feeder ID, there is a fixed translation of MAC address to feeder ID that happens on the server side now) but the site still has a feeder ID, and you can migrate to new hardware and keep the site so long as you also upgrade PiAware at the same time and configure the feeder ID.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:42 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
tdrane - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:28 am
Posts: 117
This is certainly a welcome change. Playing MAC roulette has been a pain since I've upgraded Pi's twice over the last two years and I'm about to do it again.

I hope the new identifier is stored in a simple text file on the boot volume so that one can keep it stored on a PC and copy it easily to the SD Card when necessary.

Thanks for all the good work.

TD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:25 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
tdrane wrote:
I hope the new identifier is stored in a simple text file on the boot volume so that one can keep it stored on a PC and copy it easily to the SD Card when necessary.

It's not in /boot but it is just a simple text file: /var/cache/piaware/feeder_id
You can set the feeder-id config option in /boot/piaware-config.txt though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:22 pm 
Offline
deanoz - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:16 pm
Posts: 2
Ah, well this is annoying, had me scraching my head for ages trying to work this out.

I just swapped my SD card to another Pi and got the new identifier ID (used same wifi dongle) noticed it had created new site (new long ID), i was confused so have now put back to my old Pi with wifi dongle and still got new Id. Ive tried deleting the file you mentioned and also forcing back to macaddress but no luck.

I dont want to lose my old stats and i dont want 2x sites as they are the same, is there a way to reconfigure this to keep as one site with or without new ID

Thanks for any ideas.
Dean

EDIT: Old Site: 37789. New Site: 39711


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:30 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
You triggered a corner case by swapping hardware and then trying to go back to a MAC-address-based site. I fixed it by hand this time.

(edit: this case should work a bit more smoothly now; migration of an old site to new hardware won't prevent using the old site on old hardware)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:26 pm 
Offline
deanoz - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:16 pm
Posts: 2
obj wrote:
You triggered a corner case by swapping hardware and then trying to go back to a MAC-address-based site. I fixed it by hand this time.

(edit: this case should work a bit more smoothly now; migration of an old site to new hardware won't prevent using the old site on old hardware)


Thanks obj for fixing that for me, very much appreciated for the quick response.

Im going to do some digging in other posts to see how to delete that site ID now its not needed.

Thanks
Dean


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:40 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
MikeMathee - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 50
Is there a way to move existing sites yet?
I'd like to replace the RasPi on one of my feeders.
If possible, how would one go about it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:20 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
david.baker - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:34 pm
Posts: 164
MikeMathee wrote:
Is there a way to move existing sites yet?
I'd like to replace the RasPi on one of my feeders.
If possible, how would one go about it?


The original post has the instructions but here are the exact commands to grab your UUID

You need to get your feeder ID from your piaware.log file.
"cat /var/log/piaware.log | grep -a feeder"

Follow the rest of the instructions.

Configure the feeder ID on the new system: "piaware-config feeder-id 12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789abc"
Restart piaware: "sudo systemctl restart piaware"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:46 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
MikeMathee wrote:
Is there a way to move existing sites yet?

Currently you can only move sites that are identified by a feeder id (see David's instructions above)
If you have an older site that predates the change to using feeder IDs, you can't currently move it to new hardware and retain the old site ID.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:26 pm 
Offline
roadfun - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:03 am
Posts: 43
Location: Dallas, TX
Very happy to see this implemented. To late to help me (just did a swap a couple weeks ago, and hope not to do another for quite awhile). Thanks for continued improvement to FA.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:13 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
conligwx - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:00 pm
Posts: 90
Location: EGAC/EGAD
obj wrote:
  • Find the feeder ID that you want to use. You can find this either as the "Site identifier" on the site page at https://flightaware.com/adsb/stats/user/yourusername, or from the PiAware logs in /var/log/piaware.log on your existing install. The identifier looks like a series of dash-separated hex digits: 12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789abc.
  • Configure the feeder ID on the new system: piaware-config feeder-id 12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789abc
  • Restart piaware: sudo systemctl restart piaware

Hi I have just re-added my original feeder-id to my new card.

is there any way I can remove the the other feeder ID from my account. I cannot seem to see any function setup for this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:15 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
conligwx wrote:
Hi I have just re-added my original feeder-id to my new card.

is there any way I can remove the the other feeder ID from my account. I cannot seem to see any function setup for this.

You have two sites, 39740 (not currently active) and 40150. They have different feeder IDs. Assuming you only have one receiver, which of the two sites do you want to be feeding data to?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:28 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
conligwx - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:00 pm
Posts: 90
Location: EGAC/EGAD
obj wrote:
You have two sites, 39740 (not currently active) and 40150. They have different feeder IDs. Assuming you only have one receiver, which of the two sites do you want to be feeding data to?


I would like to have 40150 as my site and have the 38740 not listed at all. is there a way to do this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:41 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Skibox - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:33 pm
Posts: 84
Is this valid for both Piaware image and Piaware package.... ?

(I still think they should be named differently...)

/M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:21 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
Skibox wrote:
Is this valid for both Piaware image and Piaware package.... ?

Yes.

Quote:
(I still think they should be named differently...)

Accident of history..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:30 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
conligwx wrote:
obj wrote:
You have two sites, 39740 (not currently active) and 40150. They have different feeder IDs. Assuming you only have one receiver, which of the two sites do you want to be feeding data to?


I would like to have 40150 as my site and have the 38740 not listed at all. is there a way to do this?

You're already feeding 40150 so you don't need to do anything more to get that part working.
To hide 38740, it'll disappear on its own after 30 days of inactivity, or after 48 hours there will be a link on the stats page you can click to disable it immediately.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:49 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
conligwx - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:00 pm
Posts: 90
Location: EGAC/EGAD
obj wrote:
it'll disappear on its own after 30 days of inactivity, or after 48 hours there will be a link on the stats page you can click to disable it immediately.


Thanks for the info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:54 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jimcander - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1162
Location: KALB
obj wrote:
MikeMathee wrote:
Is there a way to move existing sites yet?

Currently you can only move sites that are identified by a feeder id (see David's instructions above)
If you have an older site that predates the change to using feeder IDs, you can't currently move it to new hardware and retain the old site ID.


There a time frame for implementation of this feature?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:55 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2116
Location: Toronto CYYZ
obj wrote:
MikeMathee wrote:
Is there a way to move existing sites yet?

Currently you can only move sites that are identified by a feeder id (see David's instructions above)
If you have an older site that predates the change to using feeder IDs, you can't currently move it to new hardware and retain the old site ID.

Six days ago (on April 08, 2017) I tested, and found that one can still move the old site registered before March 20, 2017, to a new Pi and retain the old site ID, by spoofing mac address.

I edited file /boot/cmdline.txt. This file has only one line. At the end of this line, I added (without line break) following:

smsc95xx.macaddr=aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa (where aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa is mac address of old Pi).


I tried it successfully on (1) Piaware 3.5 image, and (2) Jessie Lt image + Piaware 3.5 (add-on package install).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:50 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
abcd567 wrote:
by spoofing mac address.

At which point, as far as piaware knows, it's still the old hardware.

Do it if you want, but at your own risk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:07 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jimcander - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1162
Location: KALB
Oliver

Is there a timeframe for the ability to take a site like mine and transition it away from the MAC based identification? I'd love to keep my site id and stats but run my new hardware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:51 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3654
It is on my to-do list but it has not been scheduled yet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:05 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jimcander - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1162
Location: KALB
obj wrote:
It is on my to-do list but it has not been scheduled yet


Understood. I'll wait to standup the hardware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:36 pm 
Offline
g7ruh - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:31 am
Posts: 3
abcd567 wrote:

smsc95xx.macaddr=aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa (where aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa is mac address of old Pi).


I tried it successfully on (1) Piaware 3.5 image, and (2) Jessie Lt image + Piaware 3.5 (add-on package install).


abcd567

thanks, worked for me, I have recently purchased an orange dongle and intial testing shows an increase of 50% aircraft and 3 times increase in position reports. Range increased from about 140NM to 210NM. I then had CPU very high so had to update the hardware to an RPi 2.

I have upgraded to dump1090-mutability for the statistics which helped me set the gain in the orange dongle.

Just need to remember not to use the old one on the ethernet port until we get a migration solution. I will tape over the port :D

Roger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:19 pm 
Offline
SEFL - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:38 pm
Posts: 21
When I set my PI up the SD card I had wouldn't load the image for some reason so I ended up installing in on a 4gb card. I just did this about a week ago.

I ordered a 32 gb card and reinstalled the image and figured out how to enable SSH. I put he card in and I had no location on the Skyview Page and my Stats pages showed no update. I figured this feeder id out and took the SD card pack out and opened the config file. All the way at the bottom I just put in feeder id alkjadsfkjasdfkj122(but my real site id). All seems to be working now. Is that all I need to do?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dschre and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: