All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:49 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3672
eshulze wrote:
It was already on 3.5.0.

What was the original sdcard image that you wrote?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:35 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
Jranderson777 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 111
I re-imaged a new card with the 3.5 Piaware image. I used a spare Pi, perhaps one not seen by FA before, and was assigned a feeder ID. When I got everything set up, I moved this card over to my the Piaware with the rooftop antenna. Let's call it the production Pi. While it worked, it is seen as the test box and hence a brand new set of stats. That's not the end of the world of course, but I thought I'd try to correct this. Note that the MAC spoofing in cmdline.txt did not work. i was doing that already since this production Pi isn't the same one I started with years ago.

I took the feeder ID from the old production system. It has one, even though it was being identified by MAC address at FA. And put that feeder-ID into piaware-config. No love. It failed to sign on to FA. There was an error about invalid feeder ID and user/password. I don't specify a user/password. I was spoofing the MAC address in cmdline.txt though.

The solution was to add force-macaddress into piaware-config as well as feeder-id. I was able to remove the MAC address spoofing from cmdline.txt. Now it all works and the stats continue under the old system's identifier at FA.

Note this problem only arises if you use a different Pi to build your setup than you do to normally run it in production.

Hope this helps others who have a similar problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changes to how new PiAware feeders are identified
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:12 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Toronto CYYZ
@Jranderson777
Since your microSD card was re-imaged with Piaware 3.5.0 image, and finally used in old production Pi, there was no need to spoof or force MAC address.

All you needed to do after sliping-in re-imaged microSD card in old production Pi and powering up, was to delete the feeder_id file in cache, and reboot.

pi@piaware:~$ sudo rm /var/cache/piaware/feeder_id
pi@piaware:~$ sudo reboot

NOTE:
For fresh installs (i. e. re-imaging to Piaware 3.5.0), the mac address spoof / force mac address is not needed for an old Pi already registered with Flight aware.

The MAC address spoof or force mac address may be required for upgrades from Piaware 3.3 (or older) to Piaware 3.5.0.

The Mac address spoof is also needed if you are replacing old Pi with a new Pi and want to retain old station number and it's stats.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How PiAware feeders are identified (updated 2017/07/16)
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:03 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3672
Top post updated. Everything is using feeder IDs now. It shouldn't be necessary to mess with the MAC address any longer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How PiAware feeders are identified (updated 2017/07/16)
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jimcander - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 1163
Location: KALB
obj wrote:
Top post updated. Everything is using feeder IDs now. It shouldn't be necessary to mess with the MAC address any longer.


From the top post:

"and you can migrate to new hardware and keep the site so long as you also upgrade PiAware at the same time and configure the feeder ID."

So in the install of 3.5 it's going to prompt me for the feeder ID or just my FA credentials? Both?

Jim

(great news by the way... can't wait to get off 2.x... lol)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How PiAware feeders are identified (updated 2017/07/16)
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:06 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3672
After installing 3.5 you can configure the feeder id as described in the top post via piaware-config, using the feeder id of your current site. You never need to configure FA credentials and those config options are going away soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How PiAware feeders are identified (updated 2017/07/16)
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:34 pm 
Offline
serek - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 3:52 pm
Posts: 1
obj wrote:

This now applied to all sites, including sites created before feeder IDs were introduced. Those sites have had a feeder ID assigned retrospectively.



Great news! Time to finally upgrade my Pi 1 that run 100% CPU 16h a day... Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 41south, Google [Bot], matth20man, RenatoRibeiro, speedy314 and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: