Attic or window

Hi Guys and gals,

I have the basic Piaware setup, using the Nooelec USB stick with the supplied antenna https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B009U7WZCA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.

I am only reaching 160km (100 miles) approx. from my bedroom window (second floor). I am surrounded to my East and West by mountains, as a result I get better coverage too my North and South.

So, from the second floor, bedroom window, I reach about 200 more flights per day than the ground floor window (same day comparison)

I am an amateur enthusiast so I want to know your advice… would I get better coverage the next level up in the property (attic, surrounded by roof tiles but higher) than my current position on the second floor right in the window?

Thanks in advance for your advice

Shaun

Hi Shaun,
I have two antennas in my attic and one in the 2nd floor bedroom.
The attic setups get a lot more traffic than the bedroom. Height is usually the best improvement you can make.
I power my attic units via POE if you don’t have power up there.

J

Thanks for the answer Jon,

Do you know off the top of the head, for the same day, what is the difference in total plane count compared between the levels?

Only so I can have a hint whether the work to get it set up in the attic will be one that will have a noticeable return.

Shaun

Look at my first two sites.
flightaware.com/adsb/stats/user/ … tats-20974
The first is in the bedroom with a mode s beats
The second is in the attic with an airspy
Same antenna type and located within 12 feet of each other.

My range is limited due to ground being 20ft amsl. I can watch cruise ships go past from my front lawn. We are two blocks from the Hudson River.

The best thing to do is to test both options for at least a few days each and compare, if you can. At my house I preferred the window setup over the attic. You may notice some trade-off between range and pattern of coverage as well that you’ll want to consider.