Antenna Run

So I’m just getting started with ADS-B tracking and have a question regarding the antenna cable. I have a Pi2 and the FA Antenna from Amazon. For testing purposes, I have the Antenna connected to a RG6 adapter, then a short RG6 cable to an RG6/MCX adapter into the RTL. I get great reception right now (using a 5-6 ft. RG6 cable) but as I’m planning the final placement of the antenna, I wanted to know the maximum that I could use without ruining the signal. I have an existing satellite dish on the roof of my house (ideal placement location, highest) that we no longer use. The RG6 goes from the dish down to a utility room in the basement for distribution. If i had to estimate the cable length, I would say it is (at max) 130 feet. Will that length destroy the usable signal? If so, would an amplifier work to resolve this problem? I have an extra cable amplifier that is not longer being used here (I will have to verify the frequency support). Also, I am not currently using a band filer. Would that be necessary with this kind of setup? Am I better off just finding a different location on the roof to place the antenna?
Thanks in advance!

So i just checked the amplifier I have. It’s an EDA 2100 and support only goes up to 1000MHZ so I don’t think this will work.

hello nick,

i had nearly the same situation here at my house - so i’ll try to give you an answer …

don’t know what cabling you use over there in the us for sat dishes. here in germany we have 75ohm - and that is not what is used for ads-b antennas (50ohm). 130feet with the wrong impedance probably gives bad results.

the best results can be achieved with the shortest possible antenna-cable. that’s why i mounted my raspi in the attic and connect via usb-wifi dongle to my network in the upper flat. maybe this could be an option for you too.

about the fa filter i don’t have practical experience at the moment.

kind regards
tom