All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 575 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:45 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jcinnb - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 136
Thank you so much. That was really easy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:47 pm 
Offline
Robidouxs - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:12 am
Posts: 2
Updating to 3.5.0 resulted in my device locking up entirely, nothing would function. Erasing entire SD Card and remounting the PiAware software.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:03 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
edgy - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:00 pm
Posts: 197
Location: KTIK
http://piaware.flightcdn.com/piaware-sd ... .0.img.zip

This link (on the build page) is dead.

Where's the latest image?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:25 am 
Offline
rsmath - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 1:00 am
Posts: 38
thanks for the easy update path for 3.5.0.

Some thoughts:

The Flightaware Logo and the Skyview banner are so thick (about 3/4" to 1" thick on my screen) so it chokes away a good portion of the outer aircraft range at the map zoom level I like the most. It would be nice to thin the bar significantly or change its transparency so you can see aircraft behind it.

the click on aircraft to get detailed info box is much bigger than in 3.3.0 so it'd be nice to tighten up that info box to the size it was in 3.3.0 so it doesn't take up a big piece of screen to view. The hover for quick aircraft info is also a big box but with only 3 items it's not too bad for something that's temporary and not a more permanent info box like when you click on aircraft icons.

love the altitude/color bar. Now I see why I never get any yellows, reds, oranges because those elevations are all below the elevation of the local airport which is represented by planes with light green color.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:30 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
edgy wrote:
http://piaware.flightcdn.com/piaware-sd-card-3.5.0.img.zip

This link (on the build page) is dead.

Where's the latest image?

Gone With The Wind! :D

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:51 am 
Offline
Robidouxs - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:12 am
Posts: 2
To solve my issue I had to reformat my SD card and mount the most current raspberry pi img. I was able to load 3.5 successfully via the download command line text. 3.5 now functions 100%.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:54 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
abcd567 wrote:
edgy wrote:
http://piaware.flightcdn.com/piaware-sd-card-3.5.0.img.zip

This link (on the build page) is dead.

Where's the latest image?

Gone With The Wind! :D

Image

There is a step that got missed to copy the new image to the CDN, should be fixed in a few hours once Houston is awake.

In the meantime you can get the image here: https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/fi ... .0.img.zip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:55 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
Robidouxs wrote:
To solve my issue I had to reformat my SD card and mount the most current raspberry pi img. I was able to load 3.5 successfully via the download command line text. 3.5 now functions 100%.

Did you preserve anything from the failed sdcard?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:08 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
conligwx - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:00 pm
Posts: 87
Location: EGAC/EGAD
I noticed this morning the Skyview on Chrome using my Android phone was all over the place. I couldn't even close the settings menu so it made it near impossible to view the map. Anyone else tried viewing Skyview on their phone?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:46 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
obj wrote:
There is a step that got missed to copy the new image to the CDN, should be fixed in a few hours once Houston is awake.

In the meantime you can get the image here: https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/fi ... .0.img.zip

Too late!
Already downloaded and wrote latest Jessie Lite, and installed Piaware 3.5 + dump1090-fa (package install).

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:05 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
conligwx wrote:
I noticed this morning the Skyview on Chrome using my Android phone was all over the place. I couldn't even close the settings menu so it made it near impossible to view the map. Anyone else tried viewing Skyview on their phone?

I can see it OK on my Android Phone / Chrome

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:29 am 
Offline
AustinBanttari - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:54 pm
Posts: 5
conligwx wrote:
I noticed this morning the Skyview on Chrome using my Android phone was all over the place. I couldn't even close the settings menu so it made it near impossible to view the map. Anyone else tried viewing Skyview on their phone?

Same issue using it in Safari on my iOS devices. Using Chrome on my iPhone yielded better results, but between the huge Info popup and the other elements, I can't really see the map.

Also, can't get it to work decently in Chrome in Windows7. Had to resort to IE. *Ugh*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:43 am 
Offline
kd7eir - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:00 pm
Posts: 1
Working perfectly in Chrome and Firefox on Windows 10 and Android 7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:46 am 
Offline
yatesd - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Posts: 6
Mine works fine on my iOS 10.3.1 iPhone. One problem I do have with Skyview is the NEXRAD. It shows weather that isn't there. Like it is holding onto some cached image that isn't refreshed. We have clear skies in South Texas today but it is showing storms. I have tried toggling it on and off. No change.

Edit: OK, well, I rebooted my RPi and it is now showing NEXRAD correctly/current.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:09 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
w7psk - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 588
Location: KPAE
Did a sudo apt-get update/upgrade and Im still at 3.3.0 ?

Tried the update on My ADS-B and still at 3.3.0 instead of 3.5.0?

Not sure what to do next. Dont want to re-image if I dont have to.

EDIT: Got it working.


Last edited by w7psk on Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:46 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
abcd567 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:08 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Toronto CYYZ
OrangepiPC (OS Armbian) - Successful upgrade from version 3.1 to version 3.5

FIRST ATTEMPT: FAILED
Code:
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo apt-get update
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo apt-get install piaware
[sudo] password for pi:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
piaware is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo apt-get install dump1090-fa
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
dump1090-fa is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.


SECOND ATTEMPT: SUCCESS
Code:
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo systemctl stop piaware
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo systemctl stop dump1090-fa
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo systemctl stop pfclient
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo systemctl stop fr24feed

pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo dpkg --remove dump1090-fa
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo dpkg --purge dump1090-fa
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo rm -rf /usr/share/dump1090-fa/html

pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo dpkg --remove piaware
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo dpkg --purge piaware

pi@orangepipc:~$ wget http://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/files/packages/pool/piaware/p/piaware-support/piaware-repository_3.5.0_all.deb
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo dpkg -i piaware-repository_3.5.0_all.deb
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo apt-get update
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo apt-get install piaware
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo piaware-config allow-auto-updates yes
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo piaware-config allow-manual-updates yes

pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo apt-get install dump1090-fa
pi@orangepipc:~$ sudo reboot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
conligwx - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:00 pm
Posts: 87
Location: EGAC/EGAD
Ok got home, cleared cache, still no joy...

Image


Last edited by conligwx on Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:15 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
conligwx wrote:
Ok got home, cleared cache, still no joy...

Image

That is a symptom of the CSS failing to load correctly, IIRC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:09 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
ericcarlson - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 116
Hard refresh of the browser cleared this for me (e.g., Shift-Refresh or whatever the equivalent is on your browser) if you run into it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:07 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
Feature lost or different UI?

If you click an airplane icon, an info screen pops up. You used to be able to click the top, left corner (registration number, I think) to center the plane on the display. The page would then track the centered plane. That feature seems to be gone now, unless there is another way to trigger it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
conligwx - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:00 pm
Posts: 87
Location: EGAC/EGAD
Managed to get it working by clearing the app cache in the end in the Android Settings, Apps, Chrome, Storage, Clear Cache.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:22 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3459
ExCalbr wrote:
Feature lost or different UI?

If you click an airplane icon, an info screen pops up. You used to be able to click the top, left corner (registration number, I think) to center the plane on the display. The page would then track the centered plane. That feature seems to be gone now, unless there is another way to trigger it.

You can doubleclick on the table entry or the aircraft icon itself but we do seem to have lost the ability to do it from the info window, I'll see about getting that fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:12 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
ExCalbr - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 589
obj wrote:
ExCalbr wrote:
Feature lost or different UI?

If you click an airplane icon, an info screen pops up. You used to be able to click the top, left corner (registration number, I think) to center the plane on the display. The page would then track the centered plane. That feature seems to be gone now, unless there is another way to trigger it.

You can doubleclick on the table entry or the aircraft icon itself but we do seem to have lost the ability to do it from the info window, I'll see about getting that fixed.


Cool. Those options work for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline
meznard - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:00 pm
Posts: 4
Coming from 3.1.0, you used to be able to set "ChartBundleLayers = true" in the config.js file to get a couple other layers. This setting appears to no longer work. I only have the 5 options under "overlay toggles"

Has this been removed or relocated to a different spot?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.5.0)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:01 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jcinnb - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 136
I feel I should know this, but I do not.

3.5 is showing B-787s with 4 engine, "747 like icon." Is there an EZ fix, and if so, how? Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 575 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommandPost2017, k6rtm, user92891 and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: