All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 512 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:20 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3193
nick0909 wrote:
Is there an easy way to get the config back to run the web server on 8080 again? I have pi-hole running on my PiAware and before they used different ports so it wasn't an issue, but now that the web interface got moved to 80 it no longer shows up because pihole is already configured there.

The config lives under /etc/lighttpd/, you can use that as a basis for whatever you want it to coexist with. I don't know how pi-hole configures things so I can't be more specific.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:00 am 
Offline
geckoVN - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:14 pm
Posts: 5
w7psk wrote:
Did sudo apt-get update then upgrade and reboot, My ADS-B says Im still running 3.1.0?

I've been having a somewhat similar issue.

I've got two Pi3b's co-located so I can compare antennas or other changes made to one system while keeping the other as a reference.
The two were installed a few months apart, but both using SD image 3.1.0.
I can't remember, but probably downloaded the image again for the second install.

The second Pi is behaving as you'd expect with the 3.3.0 upgrade (initiated from the Web control panel).

The first on the other hand goes through the motions and happily reports a successful upgrade until it restarts, then after a reboot, it reports 3.1.0 again.

It's not a big deal, but interesting all the same.
The main reason I haven't just loaded a clean install is that the local power is not particularly reliable and it's an easy way to know the power has been out even when I'm out of the country.

cheers,
ian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:32 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3193
Are you upgrading from a shell or via a command on the stats page?

The stats page command will send off an upgrade request, but there's no feedback path to say whether that request eventually succeeded or failed (you'll need to look at the logs)

My experience so far with triggering auto upgrades is that around 5% of installs have some type of problem that prevents the upgrade happening. Broken DNS, problems connecting to flightaware.com for the new packages, and sdcard corruption affecting the package management state are the three main cases I see.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:29 pm 
Offline
geckoVN - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:14 pm
Posts: 5
obj wrote:
Are you upgrading from a shell or via a command on the stats page?

The stats page command will send off an upgrade request, but there's no feedback path to say whether that request eventually succeeded or failed (you'll need to look at the logs)

My experience so far with triggering auto upgrades is that around 5% of installs have some type of problem that prevents the upgrade happening. Broken DNS, problems connecting to flightaware.com for the new packages, and sdcard corruption affecting the package management state are the three main cases I see.

I'm initiating the upgrade from "a command on the stats page".
What is odd is that it doesn't fail. The log shows a successful upgrade and the Stats Page reports "Feeder Type: PiAware (SD Card) 3.3.0".
Then, after a restart, it reverts to 3.1.0.
As it continues to decode the whole time, it doesn't seem to be a big deal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:03 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3193
That is completely bizarre, I don't know what is going on there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:17 pm 
Offline
geckoVN - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:14 pm
Posts: 5
obj wrote:
That is completely bizarre,

That's reassuring - I thought it was just me!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:28 pm 
Offline
astrodeveloper - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 1:16 pm
Posts: 2
I suspect it might be a cache issue. Many of the browsers save parts of a web page to save redownloading a page or parts of a web page. Clearing the cache is a quick fix, but then you likely lose saved passwords and such.

Give it some time, perhaps reboot the pi or restart your browser. This cleans up most of my problems. YMMV. (Your mileage may vary, always less, seldom more)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:54 am 
Offline
geckoVN - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:14 pm
Posts: 5
astrodeveloper wrote:
I suspect it might be a cache issue. Many of the browsers save parts of a web page to save redownloading a page or parts of a web page. Clearing the cache is a quick fix, but then you likely lose saved passwords and such.

Give it some time, perhaps reboot the pi or restart your browser. This cleans up most of my problems. YMMV. (Your mileage may vary, always less, seldom more)


It's not a (PC) cache issue as the Pi continues to report 3.3.0 for weeks, but immediately after a reboot, reverts to 3.1.0 (I can send screen shots if it would help).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:28 pm 
Offline
bbowers - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:00 am
Posts: 2
Was looking to upgrade my install to the latest from 3.1.0... I can't find the send command option on my stats page at all. Am I missing something?

"You may upgrade by using "Send command to device" and selecting the option "Upgrade and restart PiAware" on the My ADS-B Stats page."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:36 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
bbowers wrote:
Was looking to upgrade my install to the latest from 3.1.0... I can't find the send command option on my stats page at all. Am I missing something?

"You may upgrade by using "Send command to device" and selecting the option "Upgrade and restart PiAware" on the My ADS-B Stats page."



I had to download the image and then write it to the Micro SD Card in the PI from my main computer. You can download it from:

https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/build

Go to step 2 and that should work. that is what I had to do and it is working fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:43 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3193
bbowers wrote:
Was looking to upgrade my install to the latest from 3.1.0... I can't find the send command option on my stats page at all. Am I missing something?

This is unfortunately a bug with 3.1.0 package installs, they can misreport their install type which prevents the send command option from appearing.
You should be able to upgrade manually via "sudo apt-get update" / "sudo apt-get install piaware"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 3:50 pm 
Offline
bbowers - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:00 am
Posts: 2
obj wrote:
bbowers wrote:
Was looking to upgrade my install to the latest from 3.1.0... I can't find the send command option on my stats page at all. Am I missing something?

This is unfortunately a bug with 3.1.0 package installs, they can misreport their install type which prevents the send command option from appearing.
You should be able to upgrade manually via "sudo apt-get update" / "sudo apt-get install piaware"


Ok cool... this worked... now showing Feeder Type: PiAware (Debian Package Add-on) 3.3.0. Still no send command available. However, the webpage interface still shows version 3.1.0...is that normal?

EDIT: Spoke too soon, I see send command now and have updated dump1090 to 3.3.0. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 512 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: agretch, jluebbe, mbaltuch and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: