All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 569 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:27 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
I have been putting off the upgrade to 3.3... Per the webpage it tells me:

Quote:
Anomaly report for PiAware feeder with a MAC address of b8:27:eb:59:b7:d5:
This system is running PiAware version 3.0. PiAware version 3.1 is current. Please upgrade to the latest version by visiting http://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/upgrade.


Using the webpage I tell it to update ALL Packages. Is there somewhere I can just get the files, write them to a microSD card as an image... I mean really... I am not a normal PI user, and I only got it to run the Stick on FA... Nothing Else. Almost becoming more of a problem than it is worth.

Thanks
Sparkie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:38 am 
Offline
larryiweaver - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:22 pm
Posts: 2
I became confused by this:

The sdcard image no longer enables ssh by default for security reasons. This behaves the same way as upstream Raspbian; see https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/a-secu ... ian-pixel/ for more information. Upgrades of existing installs, without writing a new sdcard image, _are not affected_: if you had ssh enabled before, it'll still be enabled after the upgrade. You can enable ssh by:
Connecting a monitor and keyboard, logging in, running "sudo raspi-config", and selecting "Interfacing options" then "Enable or disable ssh server"; or
Creating a file named "ssh" (it doesn't matter what it contains) in the first partition of the sdcard. This can be done on a separate system, e.g. on a PC immediately after writing the sdcard image. ssh will be enabled on the next boot.

Thank you for your response,
Larry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:36 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
sparkie624 wrote:
Is there somewhere I can just get the files, write them to a microSD card as an image

Yes: https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/build step 2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
larryiweaver wrote:
I became confused by this:
The sdcard image no longer enables ssh by default for security reasons.


This is the important bit:

Quote:
Upgrades of existing installs, without writing a new sdcard image, _are not affected_

So if you upgrade an existing install (e.g. via the web control panel) then nothing changes.
If you write a fresh sdcard image, you get the new ssh behaviour where you need to explicitly enable ssh if you need it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:57 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jcinnb - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 135
Though I understand an upgrade does not require turning on SSH, a new image does. FA recommends a new image, so, I need to enable or whatever SSH. is there a simple explanation (one, maybe two syllable words) on how to:

"For headless setup, SSH can be enabled by placing a file named 'ssh', without any extension, onto the boot partition of the SD card."

I have about an hour and one half into Google and am not getting there. Appreciate your 1) Patience, 2) Understanding and 3) Assistance.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:39 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
jcinnb wrote:
"For headless setup, SSH can be enabled by placing a file named 'ssh', without any extension, onto the boot partition of the SD card."

Write the sdcard image, put the sdcard in your PC, open up the sdcard directory, create a file called "ssh" (it can contain anything) in there, eject the SD card, put it in the Pi.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:03 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
w7psk - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 575
Location: KPAE
Did sudo apt-get update then upgrade and reboot, My ADS-B says Im still running 3.1.0?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
w7psk wrote:
Did sudo apt-get update then upgrade and reboot, My ADS-B says Im still running 3.1.0?

Is this a package install or a sdcard image install? What sdcard image did you start from?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:16 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
rustytwig - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 199
Location: Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales, UK
When Flightaware updated Piaware to version 3, I could no longer select --modeac to view Mode C altitudes in Planeplotter. In the latest version they have included allow modeac as default in the configuration settings but I am still unable to see them or get any plots in the pulse rates window.
Have I missed out a setting in Planeplotter somewhere?

TIA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
obj wrote:
sparkie624 wrote:
Is there somewhere I can just get the files, write them to a microSD card as an image

Yes: https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/build step 2.



Is this the full image, or do I still need to install the Flight Aware software on it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:42 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
jcinnb - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:40 pm
Posts: 135
obj wrote:
jcinnb wrote:
"For headless setup, SSH can be enabled by placing a file named 'ssh', without any extension, onto the boot partition of the SD card."

Write the sdcard image, put the sdcard in your PC, open up the sdcard directory, create a file called "ssh" (it can contain anything) in there, eject the SD card, put it in the Pi.

Thank you so much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:16 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
sparkie624 wrote:
Is this the full image, or do I still need to install the Flight Aware software on it?

It is the full image.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:25 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
obj wrote:
sparkie624 wrote:
Is this the full image, or do I still need to install the Flight Aware software on it?

It is the full image.


For some reason it would not run... Guess I need to hook a monitor up to it and see what is going on... Any clues would be helpful. I do have a local Keyboard and Mouse for it and a monitor available... Just have to get an HDMI/DVI Cable or Adapter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:51 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
rustytwig wrote:
When Flightaware updated Piaware to version 3, I could no longer select --modeac to view Mode C altitudes in Planeplotter. In the latest version they have included allow modeac as default in the configuration settings but I am still unable to see them or get any plots in the pulse rates window.
Have I missed out a setting in Planeplotter somewhere?

The standard image will enable Mode A/C if it receives a Beast setting command requesting it.
Does Planeplotter request it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:52 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
sparkie624 wrote:
For some reason it would not run... Guess I need to hook a monitor up to it and see what is going on... Any clues would be helpful. I do have a local Keyboard and Mouse for it and a monitor available... Just have to get an HDMI/DVI Cable or Adapter.

Nothing I can suggest based on the information you've given sorry. It works fine here on all my test hardware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 4:29 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
obj wrote:
sparkie624 wrote:
For some reason it would not run... Guess I need to hook a monitor up to it and see what is going on... Any clues would be helpful. I do have a local Keyboard and Mouse for it and a monitor available... Just have to get an HDMI/DVI Cable or Adapter.

Nothing I can suggest based on the information you've given sorry. It works fine here on all my test hardware.


Getting a cable in just a little bit. Will try it when I can see what happens on the monitor and can be on the local console.!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 4:52 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
dschre - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:12 pm
Posts: 82
Happy to report a completely successful upgrade from a 3.1.0 image to 3.3.0 using the control panel. The process was a bit lengthy using the upgrade all option, but didn't disturb any of the tweaks I had made to the html files.

Richard
KE7KRF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:28 pm 
Offline
FlightAware Member
w7psk - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 575
Location: KPAE
obj wrote:
w7psk wrote:
Did sudo apt-get update then upgrade and reboot, My ADS-B says Im still running 3.1.0?

Is this a package install or a sdcard image install? What sdcard image did you start from?


I did an image install originally, Ive updated couple of times ok, just this time it didnt seem to click over.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:08 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
Now I am really screwed... Yesterday I created an image and after plugging in a monitor found that it was booting up correctly but would not talk to my Flight Stick.... I then put in the old memory card and it loads correctly but won't send any data. Have checked all the connections and nothing doing. I can see the map being produced. the flight stick is talking the the Pi, but no data is being received. All was working well... Looks like the 3.3.0 upgrade blew my card... Not sure what to do about that now!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:19 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
What does the console status display on the 3.3.0 image say? (The text mode display after it has finished booting)

Software generally has a hard time doing anything permanent to hardware, so I'd say that something else has changed when you rearranged things if the old image no longer works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:42 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
obj wrote:
What does the console status display on the 3.3.0 image say? (The text mode display after it has finished booting)

Software generally has a hard time doing anything permanent to hardware, so I'd say that something else has changed when you rearranged things if the old image no longer works.


1st set of data:
PiAware Feeder - normal - PiAware 3.3 is running
Receiver - warning - Connected to receiver, but no recent data seen
FlightAware Feed - normal - Connected to FlightAware and Logged In
Multilateration - warning - No clock synchronization with nearby receivers

2nd set of data:
PiAware Feeder - normal - PiAware 3.3 is running
Receiver - error - Not connected to receiver
FlightAware Feed - normal - Connected to FlightAware and Logged In
Multilateration - error - Multilateration enabled, but client is not runnig

I hope this helps...

Keep in mind I have plugged the "FlightAware Pro Stick" directly in to the receiver and used different USB Ports with the same results. All lights look normal on the Stick and the Pi unit, Keyboard and Mouse inputs work normally. I tried plugging the stick into another port and still same results.

Thanks in advance for any advice that you can offer.

Sparkie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:17 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
Sounds like a hardware problem, power supply being the usual culprit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:36 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
w7psk - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 575
Location: KPAE
Reran the upgrade piaware on the My ADS-B and it updated fine today. Maybe a glitch yesterday.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:45 am 
Offline
FlightAware Member
sparkie624 - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Salisbury NC
obj wrote:
Sounds like a hardware problem, power supply being the usual culprit.


I swapped the power supply was a no fix, then I swapped to my back Pi computer and a no fix. Exact same error. Have ordered a new updated receiver that is supposed to receive more so will see what happens.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Announcing PiAware 3! (Latest version: 3.3.0)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline
FlightAware Staff
obj - FlightAware user avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:14 pm
Posts: 3323
sparkie624 wrote:
obj wrote:
Sounds like a hardware problem, power supply being the usual culprit.


I swapped the power supply was a no fix, then I swapped to my back Pi computer and a no fix. Exact same error. Have ordered a new updated receiver that is supposed to receive more so will see what happens.

A couple of things you can try running from a shell:

Code:
lsusb

(You should see the rtlsdr dongle listed)

Code:
sudo systemctl status dump1090-fa
sudo journalctl -u dump1090-fa

(This should tell you why dump1090 is not starting)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 569 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MikeMathee and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: